$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 125.78

7,483 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.2% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tainted Rations Mythos card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony Cogan
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Greets!

I had a situation in our 8 player game after we drew the Tainted rations Mythos card, that had significant consequences dependent on how we chose to implement the Mythos card effect in relation to a couple of the investigators. In case it crops up again I would like some indication if we played it right.

Tainted Rations

Each Investigator loses 3 health unless he gains a Poisoned condition


Zoey Samaras was down to 3 stamina and already had a Poisoned condition. Does she lose her last 3 stamina because she cannot gain a Poisoned condition due to already having it or does she avoid taking 3 stamina loss because she already satisfies the criteria of having a Poisoned condition.

This was important as her life was literally on the line. We chose to avoid inflicting 3 stamina on her as she was already poisoned. It seemed that the criteria was Be poisoned or suffer 3 stamina
as opposed to the actual action of physically drawing a poisoned condition from the deck to bestow upon her.

Wendy AdamsShe chose to gain the poisoned condition and then using her passive ability chose not to gain it. In essence she chose to gain the condition so she could choose not to be affected by it. which seems bizarre. Is this an allowed action as part of the rules.

As there was only 4 poisoned condition cards in the deck this allowed another investigator on low stamina to take the poisoned condition that Wendy would have had. Hopefully we played it right.

Thanks much
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matheus Affonso
Brazil
Porto Alegre
RS
flag msg tools
mb
From what I remember, in your case, Zoey should have taken the 3 damage, and Wendy could ignore it.

When an effect forces you to take some bad stuff to avoid some other bad stuff, if you cannot take the bad stuff, the other bad stuff is mandatory. If you have a way of preventing the bad stuff, then you're safe.

So, since Zoey cannot be poisoned again, she must take 3 damage — and, in this case, die a horrible death —, and since Wendy can prevent the poisoned condition, and is herself not poisoned, she can safely choose the first option.

Notice that it would be different if you had the option of taking some bad stuff to get something (like "get delayed to upgrade will" effects). In those cases, the bad stuff is a condition for the effect bound to it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Cogan
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Managed to answer my own question regarding Wendy.

From the FAQ in Signs of Carcosa:

Q. Can Wendy Adams’s passive ability stop her from gaining a
Condition she chooses to gain?

A. Yes. If an effect allows Wendy Adams to gain a Condition as
part of a cost, such as “you may gain a Madness Condition” or
“unless you gain a Blight Condition,” she may use her passive
ability to not gain that Condition instead. If she does, the cost
of gaining the Condition has still been paid.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The game is designed in such a way that falling below 4 Stamina or Sanity puts you in the "kill zone". Never allow your character to end a turn, or have an Encounter in such a situation unless you are prepared for the consequences.

With regard to your questions, you have it right and should you wish to check you will find the answers in the FAQ.
page 3 of the FAQ wrote:
Q. If an investigator chooses an effect, can that effect be prevented?
A. Yes. The effect an investigator chooses can be prevented by
another effect. In such a case, the investigator’s choice is not
negated. For example, an investigator must discard his Spell
unless he loses 2 Sanity. If that investigator chooses to lose 2
Sanity, that loss of Sanity can be prevented with the Whiskey
Asset or the Instill Bravery Spell.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michal K
msg tools
Wendy is a little bit tricky as there are multiple scenarios that can arise with her specifically.

1. "You may gain Condition A to X" (you do not have Condition A)
Possible result: You choose to gain Condition A, the trigger your passive ability to not receive Condition A and trigger X

2. "You may gain Condition A to X" (you do have Condition A)
Result: You cannot choose to gain a Condition you already have, not even Wendy can do that, you cannot trigger X

3. "Trigger X unless you gain Condition A" (you do not have Condition A)
Possible result: You choose to gain Condition A, the trigger your passive ability to not receive Condition A and do not trigger X

4. "Trigger X unless you gain Condition A" (you do have Condition A)
Result: You cannot choose to gain a Condition you already have, not even Wendy can do that, you must trigger X

and now the most interesting one:

5. "You may gain Condition A. If you gain the Condition, X..."
If you triggered your passive ability you effectivaly did not gain the Condition and do not trigger X



3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davy Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no choice to eat the tainted rations or not eat them -- everyone ate them. What happens next depends on what kind of shape you were in. If you were already poisoned from some other source, you are not in good shape. It's going to hurt you to eat spoiled food.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Cogan
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Thanks for the feedback all.

Looks like we played it wrong.

Zoey should have lost the 3 health and was dooooomed!.

Love this game... despite how it abuses you.

In the end we lost because we ran out of mythos cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
GrimGuvna wrote:
Thanks for the feedback all.

Looks like we played it wrong.

Zoey should have lost the 3 health and was dooooomed!.

Love this game... despite how it abuses you.

In the end we lost because we ran out of mythos cards.
Yep, never go into an Encounter or a Mythos with your character in "the kill zone". Less than 4 San/Stam is high risk.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.