$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 60.47

4,336 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
27.3% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: When does a game end? (Anal retentive rules interpreting) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gerald Butler
msg tools
The rules state in various places:

Quote:
The game ends at the end of the round in which at least one player has reached or exceeded the glory target for that game.


and:

Quote:
The game ends when, at the end of the round, at least one player has reached or exceeded the target glory for the game.


Say you have two players, P1 and P2. P1 has 1 less glory than the target for that game but P2 is further behind. P1 goes before P2 in a round.

P1 builds a structure and reaches the glory total. The game doesn't end yet because the round isn't over. Then P2 raids P1's structure, dropping P1's glory below the target.

Since the round is now over, and at that moment no one is sitting at or beyond the target glory, does the game continue? Or, since one player reached the glory "in" the round, does it end even though they subsequently dropped below the target?

It all comes down to how you interpret the phrasing regarding "at the end of the round". It could be only meant to specify the timing during the round when the game can possibly end (as opposed to instantly ending in the middle of a round right when a player reaches the glory target). Or it could be describing both the timing of when the game can end AND when to check the glory target. In the latter interpretation, the glory target is ignored except at the end of the round, whereas in the former, the players must monitor the glory target status at all times, basically triggering a countdown to the end of that round the moment it is reached, regardless of what else takes place the rest of the round (e.g. the "reacher's" possible subsequent dropping below the target due to raids).

AND, there's another wrinkle. This is a spoiler for I believe box 2, the one with the buildings on it:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Since colonies give the governor glory upon activation, it's possible that a player can reach the glory target during winter via activation. Does winter count as a "round"? I think not, because they keep referring to it as a "phase" in the rules to be followed by "6 rounds". Would the game then go through a full round following the colony activation?
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
smoothofhand wrote:
Since the round is now over, and at that moment no one is sitting at or beyond the target glory, does the game continue?


Yes.

Quote:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Would the game then go through a full round following the colony activation?


Yes.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Howard
United Kingdom
Coventry
West Midlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Basically, when you reach step 4 (so after resolving the event card if necessary) in a non-winter round, you check the glory track (then and only then). If no-one is on or beyond the glory total, play another full round before checking again (and resolve another winter first if you were on round 6).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerald Butler
msg tools
Ehrine wrote:
Basically, when you reach step 4 (so after resolving the event card if necessary) in a non-winter round, you check the glory track (then and only then). If no-one is on or beyond the glory total, play another full round before checking again (and resolve another winter first if you were on round 6).


Sadly I missed that this is an actual step of the round ("4. Check Glory Track for End of Game"). We must not be very detail-oriented because we keep getting in big discussions about rules and blatantly missing others.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.