$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 104.64

6,555 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
41.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Daisy's Necronomicon rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Benjamin Schoenheiter
Germany
Friedberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
publisher
Editor
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
So - bear with me for a second. When Daisy draws her beloved Necronomicon she must immediately play it. However, even though it is an asset and the rules state that assets always go into the asset area (and the Threat area is specifically defined as holdings Encounter cards and enemies) the book does not go into the asset area but into the Threat area. Where is the problem you might ask? Well, I KNOW that the hand on the Necronomicon MUST mean that it uses up one hand slot, but as per the rules as written, does it?

- Yes, I know the answer must be yes, but why does the game put it in the Threat area and not simply instructs you to play it (where it would then go into your asset area and you would follow all other normal rules about card slots). It feels odd and it actually feels like an error in wording.

-> Fun Fact: Did anybody else notice the "wrong" Rogue icon on the back of Skids investigator card? Seems like an old rogue symbol that was missed on the change. It shows brass knuckles instead of the 8 symbol. (All other investigator cards don't have a different symbol on their flip side)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damon Baume
Australia
Lismore
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules Reference p.16: Slots "...Each asset in an investigator’s play area or threat area with a slot symbol is held in a slot of that type."
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phoenix Bird
Antarctica
msg tools
mbmbmb
You got me all excited thinking that this would be a meaty talking point.

But reading the rules on page 19 of the reference
“Each Asset in an investigator’s play area or threat area with a slot symbol is held in a slot of that type. Slots limit the number of asset cards the investigator is permitted to have in play simultaneously.”

Slots are a category, or a limit, and not a placement area in play.

Oh, and people have pointed out the Skid’s symbol before. Which I am hoping will be saved for some future awesomeness.

Phoenix
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thematically, the Necronomicon is NOT a friendly tome, but contains many things which are horrible threats to an investigator's sanity.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Chapman
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Oh, alright - except for Codenames
badge
No, this is NOT my bloody "fursona"
mbmbmbmbmb
chicklewis wrote:
Thematically, the Necronomicon is NOT a friendly tome, but contains many things which are horrible threats to an investigator's sanity.


And Daisy just can't resist reading it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Schoenheiter
Germany
Friedberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
publisher
Editor
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
sapper_D wrote:
Rules Reference p.16: Slots "...Each asset in an investigator’s play area or threat area with a slot symbol is held in a slot of that type."


Thanks. Must have completely gazed over this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emily Dickinson
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jedit wrote:
chicklewis wrote:
Thematically, the Necronomicon is NOT a friendly tome, but contains many things which are horrible threats to an investigator's sanity.


And Daisy just can't resist reading it.


As if any of us could. We'd be pre-ordering that thing and wondering how many copies we need for our whole town to descend into madness...
11 
 Thumb up
5.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Wolowicz
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
Esgaldil wrote:
As if any of us could. We'd be pre-ordering that thing and wondering how many copies we need for our whole town to descend into madness...


You win the forums today.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robbie M.
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Esgaldil wrote:
Jedit wrote:
chicklewis wrote:
Thematically, the Necronomicon is NOT a friendly tome, but contains many things which are horrible threats to an investigator's sanity.


And Daisy just can't resist reading it.


As if any of us could. We'd be pre-ordering that thing and wondering how many copies we need for our whole town to descend into madness...

If it were published by FFG, you would have to buy 2 copies.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke C
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Related question: If you draw the Necronomicon and both your hand slots are in use, does it go into play or get discarded?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emily Dickinson
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Lukezors wrote:
Related question: If you draw the Necronomicon and both your hand slots are in use, does it go into play or get discarded?


You must discard a hand slot item and equip the Necronomicon in your threat area.

(A good reason to get that Tote bag out early)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.