$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 125.71

7,480 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

King of Tokyo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Psychic probe and alpha monster rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alvin
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
Psychic probe allows the rerolls and alpha monster gives you a victory point if you "roll an attack". My question is, does rolling an attack mean right when it gets rolled, or does it mean at the very end of all the rolling?

For example, let's say someone rolls an attack on the first roll. Does the victory point get rewarded then, or is the psychic probe wielder allowed to reroll that attack dice after the 3 rounds of rolling to see whether or not that victory point is awarded.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darin Bolyard
United States
Oak Grove
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Alpha Monster doesn't award you points for rolling attacks. Technically, you don't roll "attacks," but "claws" to attack with. The text on the Alpha Monster card reads: Gain 1 when you attack. This is only gained once upon the final resolution of your claw dice. For example:
Roll 1 - 2 claws, 1 energy, 1 one, 2 threes
Roll 2 - 3 claws, 1 energy, 1 heart, 1 three (kept 2 claws, 1 energy)
Roll 3 - 3 claws, 1 energy, 2 hearts (kept 3 claws, 1 energy, 1 heart)
The final result is resolved, and because you have Alpha Monster, you gain just a single because you attacked.

If you have Alpha Monster, and someone rerolls your dice with the psychic probe and it turns up a claw, you gain a single , even if it adds another claw to claws you already may have rolled...because you will attack.

If you have Alpha Monster, and you reroll someone else's dice with the psychic probe and it turns up a claw, you don't gain a because you are not the one attacking.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trueflight Silverwing
United States
Waverly
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Anything that concerns "attacks", "Healing", scoring points, and various dice combos is only applied and figured out at the very end after all of our re-rolls have taken place. In the end, it is only your final roll that you keep that matters and is used to trigger the various abilities that you have access too.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grarrrg Grarrrgowski
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From this thread
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/23074196#23074196
Official source answer:
Mattintheweb wrote:
anytime a card says "if you roll" and nothing else about rerolling, it means "if after you're done rolling and rerolling your dice…".

So only on Final Roll.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.