$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 76.31

5,185 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
32.7% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Trickerion: Legends of Illusion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions for Theater and Market Row rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Makoto Morichika
msg tools
Hello everyone, I played this great game with friends yesterday, awesome!
and we have some confuse about the rules:

1.About Theater actions: May I put my Apprentice or Specialist to the back stage slot, even if my Magician isn't at front stage (to avoid other players get action first)?

2.About Market Row: Components price in quick order action slot is +1,
so it's +1 for every components I bought, or the total price +1?

Thank for answering!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle Pratt
United States
Billings
Montana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Haven't got that game to the table for a couple months, so my memory may not be perfect, but I believe you can place your apprentice backstage prior to placing you magician to save a spot. And I am pretty sure the market price is the normal price +1 for each item you buy in the quick order slot.

If I am wrong, someone please correct me.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Makoto Morichika
msg tools
Thanks! And now I got another Questions: When I learn tricks, do I take the first card of the trick card pile, or I can choose any 1 card from the pile that die shows? (or my magician's favorite trick?)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Przemyslaw Kozlowski
Canada
London
Ontario
flag msg tools
Makoto02 wrote:
Thanks! And now I got another Questions: When I learn tricks, do I take the first card of the trick card pile, or I can choose any 1 card from the pile that die shows? (or my magician's favorite trick?)


You can look through the appropriate pile and choose.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Wiese
United States
Ventura
California
flag msg tools
mb
Makoto02 wrote:
Thanks! And now I got another Questions: When I learn tricks, do I take the first card of the trick card pile, or I can choose any 1 card from the pile that die shows? (or my magician's favorite trick?)


Yes, you can pick a trick. Don't forget you can only learn tricks that meet your fame requirement (so like the "level 2" tricks require at least 16 fame).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr Avers
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Bigft64 wrote:
Yes, you can pick a trick. Don't forget you can only learn tricks that meet your fame requirement (so like the "level 2" tricks require at least 16 fame).
If you have less Fame, you are allowed to learn the Trick by paying the difference in Coins between your current Fame points and the Fame Threshold of the Trick you want to learn. (See top right of page 13)

For example, if you have 14 Fame, you can learn a 16 Fame Trick by taking the Learn Trick action and pay an additional 2 Coins to cover the Fame difference.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Makoto Morichika
msg tools
Thanks everyone! Next time we can challenge the Dark Alley Expansion!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Makoto02 wrote:
1.About Theater actions: May I put my Apprentice or Specialist to the back stage slot, even if my Magician isn't at front stage (to avoid other players get action first)?


Yes. You don't even have to place your Magician in the theatre later, you can choose to just set up or move tricks. You can even put your Magician back stage to set up tricks, but then you can't perform that turn.

I'm pretty sure this is covered in the original rulebook, but if not, it is in the revised rulebook (v1.11), see page 16. There's a Magician back stage in the first image in the left column, and there's a Note-box further explaining this near the bottom of the right column. You can find the revised rulebook here: https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/108952/trickerion-english...


Makoto02 wrote:
2.About Market Row: Components price in quick order action slot is +1, so it's +1 for every components I bought, or the total price +1?


I would say it's +1 for each component you buy, not +1 for the stack. The wording in the revised rulebook is as follows (see bottom of the right column of page 14):

Quote:
the Coin price of the Component on the Quick order slot is increased by 1


There is an example on page 15, but unfortunately, it only covers buying a single component from the quick order slot, so it doesn't cover this detail. However, I think the wording is clear enough. The price of the component is increased. That will of course affect all copies of the component. Compare this to how the Bargain action is described:

Quote:
You may decrease the total price of Components you buy by 1 Coin per Action Point spent on ‘Bargain’.



Makoto02 wrote:
When I learn tricks, do I take the first card of the trick card pile, or I can choose any 1 card from the pile that die shows? (or my magician's favorite trick?)


You can choose any trick you want, and, as Mr Avers said, if you want a trick that has a higher fame threshold than your current fame, you can pay the difference in coins.

From the revised rulebook:

Quote:
The player chooses a Trick from the Dahlgaard Residence


This question, about whether you have to take the top card or not, has come up many times in this forum, so it's apparently quite easy to misinterpret, and unfortunately, it doesn't seem to be clarified anywhere in the rulebook.

The "chooses" could be interpreted as "chooses between the top card of the four categories", but I'd argue that is not the intention of the designers. I've looked for an official answer to this on the forums, but haven't found one. It might still be out there somewhere, as I haven't looked through every single one of the creators' replies to every thread about Trickerion. (If you want to, look here: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/browse/boardgame/0/page/1?... and here https://boardgamegeek.com/article/browse/boardgame/0/page/1?...)

But, I still think there's enough evidence to argue that you are allowed to choose any card in the stack.

Firstly, the listing of all the tricks in the Magician Workbook. This is a clear indication that you're supposed to have some control over what tricks you learn.

Secondly, you have the fact that you pretty much wouldn't be able to reach any level 16 tricks, and definitely no level 36 tricks, if you could only choose the top card. Because each player only have a maximum of four slots for trick cards. So to reach the level 16 tricks, you would have to remove the four level 1 tricks of a category by learning them. But when you are about to learn your first level 16 trick, you need to return one of your level 1 tricks. That would then block of the next level 16 card again. And even if you would place the old card on the bottom of the deck, you would have to cycle through 8 tricks in a stack to reach the first level 36 card. In only 7 turns!

So, no, I think I can confidently say that you can look through the deck and choose whichever trick you fancy
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Makoto Morichika
msg tools
Thanks for everyone answering. And I just remembered a question about trick links: does trick must link to another player? Which means I cant link tricks myself? Picture on the rulebook seems must link to other player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You can link to your own tricks if you want. The amount of fame or money is determined by the level of the trick you are currently placing. And if you create a shard-link, you only get one shard.

I can provide rulebook references for these if you specifically want them, but I'm too lazy to look them up right now, unless requested
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Makoto Morichika
msg tools
Thanks! And I found the example that shows player can link his own tricks to get fame or money.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Catley
United Kingdom
Hull
East Yorkshire
flag msg tools
You can link to your own tricks, but it must be a different trick (with a different trick marker). The audience doesn't want to see the same trick performed twice in the same show!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Moose Malloy wrote:
You can link to your own tricks, but it must be a different trick (with a different trick marker). The audience doesn't want to see the same trick performed twice in the same show!


That's true whether or not you create a link though. Only one of each of your markers on each performance card.

I think there's a Special Assignment Card that lets you place an extra copy of the same trick marker though, but that's a special case of course.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Catley
United Kingdom
Hull
East Yorkshire
flag msg tools
True
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.