tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Dewsbery
United Kingdom
Sutton Coldfield
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I could really do with this too - perhaps as a basis for some card-sized player aids, one per colony type.

The different effects of the embassies are both easily misunderstood (a friend achieved a mighty score by misusing the Trader again and again, based on a misreading of the rules) and also easily forgotten during the game. I can barely see that I have a level two Lord embassy without a magnifying glass; trying to peer across the table at the colony overviews is even more of a nuisance.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Pierce
Denmark
Aarhus
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
RDewsbery wrote:
I could really do with this too - perhaps as a basis for some card-sized player aids, one per colony type.

The different effects of the embassies are both easily misunderstood (a friend achieved a mighty score by misusing the Trader again and again, based on a misreading of the rules) and also easily forgotten during the game. I can barely see that I have a level two Lord embassy without a magnifying glass; trying to peer across the table at the colony overviews is even more of a nuisance.

Just out of curiosity, how was your friend misusing the Trader Colony?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Dewsbery
United Kingdom
Sutton Coldfield
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not a clue - I wasn't playing in that game. Perhaps forgetting that they had to visit a Market to do so?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thornsen
United States
Nottingham
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I misused the Trader Colony the first time it was in play. The arrow iconography suggests that you can make multiple trades in a single action (e.g. freely exchange all your resources for other ones of equivalent value).

ex: convert 6 wood into 4 food + 2 clay
ex: convert 10 wood into 3 planks + 2 bricks