$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 55.27

4,041 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
25.5% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Talisman (Revised 4th Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Woodlands cards help rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jason raymond
msg tools
new user
After some help trying to understand the "fated outcomes" with these cards.
At first glance most of them seem pretty straight forward, but after playing with them, some look to activate in defeat, others in victory, others are instant, but some make no sense when they should activate.

This probably isn't the best example,
"Breeze Sylph"
Strength 2 Enemy
Gracefully riding on the lightest breeze, this Fae will remain here until defeated.
"Light = Gain 1 Light fate"
"Dark = Lose 1 dark fate"

Since it's an enemy, Light fated characters shouldn't get a bonus instantly, and dark fated characters shouldn't lose a fate if they win.

As i see it, light fate activates on a win, dark fate activates on a lose.

Can someone explain when the outcome activates on this card please?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Tubb
United States
Fuquay Varina
NC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I would rule that you resolve the effect when you encounter the Breeze Sylph, before combat. There are many enemies who have a special ability that takes effect before combat, though most of the time the card is a bit more specific about timing (e.g. "Before engaging in battle, enemy X does whatever to you..."). The Wyrdling enemy from the Woodland is similar to the Sylph, though it is a bit more specific.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jason raymond
msg tools
new user
It's vague, same as a few others.
Another example is the one that has
"light = gain one life"
"dark = you are killed"

Whilst we play with the Reaper and accept "instaDeath", cards like this give no chance of surviving if it's not a "on a loss", especially if they don't make it clear, and discourage entering the woodlands in the first place
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grarrrg Grarrrgowski
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Woodland Rulebook, page 9
"Fatebound effects on Events, Enemies, Strangers, and Places are resolved when the card in encountered, unless otherwise stated. Fatebound effects on Objects, Followers, and Spells are resolved as directed by the card."
(typo included from original printing)

Dfektiv77 wrote:
"Breeze Sylph"
Strength 2 Enemy
Gracefully riding on the lightest breeze, this Fae will remain here until defeated.
"Light = Gain 1 Light fate"
"Dark = Lose 1 dark fate"


This is en Enemy, and it does not say when, so the Gain/Loss of Fate is immediate.

Aarontu wrote:
The Wyrdling enemy from the Woodland is similar to the Sylph, though it is a bit more specific.

Enemy, does not say when, so the effect is immediate. BUT has a special effect for Unbound (Unbound normally ignore all Fate-bound effects).

Dfektiv77 wrote:
It's vague, same as a few others.
Another example is the one that has
"light = gain one lifeLose 1 additional life"
"dark = you are killed"

No vagueness. This one does specify. Card is "Sidhe" and it says "...If you are defeated: [fate effects]".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jason raymond
msg tools
new user
ok, immediate unless stated otherwise, thank you.

i read the rule book 4 times and it didn't have as you have quoted, that would have made sense.

black and brown, no grey zone.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.