$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 132.92

7,782 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
49% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Shadowrift» Forums » Rules

Subject: Difference between "Discard" and "Discard from play" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Weber
Germany
Wendeburg
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Some cards state "discard.." while others specifically state "discard FROM PLAY"

So while "discard" is pretty well defined as put the card in question into your discard pile - what exactly does "discard from play" mean??? In old edition of the game we interpreted it as put it back into the "market", but this is no longer clear as the second edition rules defines the discard pile as "not in play", so "discard from play" would mean (under the second edition rules) a plain "discard" as the discard pile is not defined as "in play" (example: Elixir of life")
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Anderson
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Mixo wrote:
Some cards state "discard.." while others specifically state "discard FROM PLAY"

So while "discard" is pretty well defined as put the card in question into your discard pile - what exactly does "discard from play" mean??? In old edition of the game we interpreted it as put it back into the "market", but this is no longer clear as the second edition rules defines the discard pile as "not in play", so "discard from play" would mean (under the second edition rules) a plain "discard" as the discard pile is not defined as "in play" (example: Elixir of life")


"Discard" with nothing else means put the card in question from your hand into your discard pile.
"Discard from play" or "discard from in play" means put the card in question from the table in front of you into your discard pile (or the Town Discard if it's a Town card).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Weber
Germany
Wendeburg
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Jeremy for being so fast with your replies and really caring for your gamers :-)

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.