$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 87.44

5,743 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
36.2% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Trickerion: Legends of Illusion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Prepare marker limit on tricks? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Moscrop
United Kingdom
Colchester
flag msg tools
mbmb
Can a trick have more prepare markers on it (over its limit) if you spend additional prepare actions in the workshop? The rules only say that when you take a prepare action, you put the number of markers on the trick equal to the number of squares on the trick but didn't specify whether there was a limit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Mazzone
United States
Maspeth
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pretty sure the outlined squares on the card is the max number of preps it can store. Thats how we always played, it doesnt say it can go over that limit anywhere in rulebook.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Morris
Canada
flag msg tools
mb
You can't prepare a trick if there are already trick markers on it. Once you prepare it you have to wait until it's empty to prepare it again. So...no.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Moscrop
United Kingdom
Colchester
flag msg tools
mbmb
Well this is how I read it but after reading the rules I started to doubt this. For instance, the rules say...

PREPARE ( 1 -3 ) : The number of Action
points required to Prepare each Trick is printed
in a circle in the lower left box (the Trick Marker
slot). Like at other Locations, you may take
multiple ‘Prepare’ Actions with one Character
- the only limit is the number of Action Points
you have

If you Prepare a Trick, place a number of Trick Markers on it equal
to the number of overlapping squares in the lower left box. Use
Trick Markers with the same symbol as the Symbol Marker you
placed on the Trick when you learned it.

... it doesn't explicitly say you can't put more markers on a trick card if you spend additional actions. I'd love to get peoples thoughts on this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Moscrop
United Kingdom
Colchester
flag msg tools
mbmb
Dogtorted wrote:
You can't prepare a trick if there are already trick markers on it. Once you prepare it you have to wait until it's empty to prepare it again. So...no.


Oh really? That's good to know. Can you point me to the rules where it says you can't prepare a trick if it already has markers on it please?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Bigmore
England
Abingdon
Oxon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 15, in one of the Important boxes, just after the part you quoted.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Bright
United States
Rancho Cordova
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Trickerion Rule Book wrote:
Important: If you do not meet a Trick's Component requirements or already have one or more Trick Markers on it, you cannot use the 'Prepare' Action on that Trick.


Page 15, top right side below the pictured example.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Note, however, that you can prepare a trick with no trick markers on it even if that trick has markers on performance cards.

Doing so may result in the trick having more trick markers "in play" than the limit associated with trick (although still limited to 4).

Here is a link to the designer's post to a thread that discussed this issue.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Moscrop
United Kingdom
Colchester
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks all! Such an idiot. I totally skipped over that "Important" box.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.