Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Josh Walton
United States
Ada
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been playing the LoTR LCG for the last 5 years. I finally got to play my first two games of this last night. I could not for the life of me remember that I could attack unengaged enemies or enemies that were engaged with other players at my location! In my head I could only attack enemies engaged with me, because I need Ranged to help my partner, and the enemies in the staging area (i.e. unengaged but at my location) are definitely off limits.

Haha man I know we would've done a lot better if I had remembered what game I was playing. Have any other LoTR players encountered any rules hang ups like this?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Ficek
United States
Erie
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For whatever reason I kept forgetting that I could draw cards as an action, finding myself saying "Man I wish I had a card that would allow me to get my card draw engine going"

I didn't move during the investigation phase once because I was planning on moving during the travel phase, ha

But overall not much. There are some similarities but the rules are overall quite different
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Walton
United States
Ada
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nez477 wrote:
There are some similarities but the rules are overall quite different

Agreed. It was just that one aspect of combat that's drilled into my head. And I love how it works in this game. It's so liberating that I can shoot enemies not engaged with me. I just need to remember I can do it!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kovaks Alpha
msg tools
mbmbmb
Yep, I've been wasting moves engaging enemies. Best strategy seems to be evade, then attack. Thanks for the tip!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Chakado
France
flag msg tools