$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 76.31

5,185 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
32.7% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Manual Dexterity rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
randy s

wantagh
New York
msg tools
Hi,

Can someone please explain to me what the manual dexterity card does?


"Max 1 committed per skill test.
If this test is successful, draw 1 card."

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Donghi
Italy
Near Milan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's a skill card, meaning its only use is to be committed to help you pass a skill check. In this case, it has two Agility icons on the top left corner, so you will want to commit it to an Agility or Evade check. Contrary to other card types, the text of a skill card activates when you commit it to a skill check. So when committed to a skill check you will have +2 Agility bonus for this check, and will also draw a card if the skill check turns out a success.
The card specifies that you can't commit 2 Manual Dexterity to the same check.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dee
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mb
It is the Skill-type card which helps with checks versus Agility. Note 'skill' in the top left. Unlike Asset- or Event-type cards, you never play a Skill card, where 'play' here is a specific game term in which you pay any associated costs and put a card into play (fixed in your area for assets, or with an immediate effect on the game for events). Skill-type cards are only ever committed to skill checks (note: 'commit' as the verb rather than 'play'). You commit them to a skill check just like any other valid card (ie. one that has the relevant skill icon(s) running down the left side of the card) by discarding them from your hand before resolving a skill check and using it to modify the skill value that you will compare against the Chaos Bag's token. Manual Dexterity, as a dedicated Skill-type card, allows you to bump a test by +2 (2 agility icons) and gives you a bonus effect if you're successful - you immediately draw a card, so it essentially replaces itself in your hand. You may only, however, commit one copy of Manual Dexterity per skill check (you can commit other agility-icon cards, just not a second Manual Dexterity).

I think about covers it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dee
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mb
Additional question about the restriction "Max 1 committed per skill check."

Is this sentence talking to the owner of the card, or is it talking universally about the check?

Or, another way of putting it, Roland plays a Manual Dexterity to help against an Encounter card check. Wendy's at his location and she wants to help out. Can she commit her own Manual Dexterity?


EDIT: I'm a dumbo. The answer is in the FAQ that I myself jsut linked to in another thread. *ahem*

For reference, the official word is:

Quote:
"Max 1 per skill test" across all players.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scourn1
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Who draws the card? We have been playing it to the person who is successful. So you play that on yourself and pass, you get the card. You use that card on a friend in the same location, they pass and they draw the card
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrone Jamal
msg tools
Player who played the card draws a card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
randy s

wantagh
New York
msg tools
Thanks all, but one last question. Does Manual Dexterity, or other skill cards) stay with the character for the whole scenario or discarded after one use?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathias Heilmann
Germany
Essen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You discard them of course. You might want to have a look into the rules reference for some of those game terms...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.