$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 65.11

4,592 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
28.9% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Which titles do you use in a 4P game? [spoilers for Box 1] rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ecosmith Ecosmith
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Starting Game 2 this evening and I was struck by the fact that in our 4P game, we're using Pronce, Baron, Count and Lord. I'm the Count, so I'm short-changed on enmity it looks like.

The rulebook's vague as usual. Can someone clearly state which title csrds to use in a 4P game?

Eco
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Federico Galeotti
Italy
Firenze
flag msg tools
http://www.gruppoludico.it/
badge
I believe you find life such a problem because you think there are the good people and the bad people. You're wrong, of course. There are, always and only, the bad people, but some of them are on opposite sides.
mbmbmbmbmb
On the title cards themselves it is written that for 4P the cards to be used are: Prince, Duke, Count and Baron.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ecosmith Ecosmith
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
vetinari7878 wrote:
On the title cards themselves it is written that for 4P the cards to be used are: Prince, Duke, Count and Baron.
not on mine it doesn't, it just says seating arrangements and bonuses.

Eco
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Federico Galeotti
Italy
Firenze
flag msg tools
http://www.gruppoludico.it/
badge
I believe you find life such a problem because you think there are the good people and the bad people. You're wrong, of course. There are, always and only, the bad people, but some of them are on opposite sides.
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have them in front of me, but don't they say something to the effect that "with 3 players, Count sits to the left of the Prince" and "with 4 players, Baron sits to the left of the Prince"?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Ruzzo
United States
Manchester
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ecosmith wrote:
vetinari7878 wrote:
On the title cards themselves it is written that for 4P the cards to be used are: Prince, Duke, Count and Baron.
not on mine it doesn't, it just says seating arrangements and bonuses.

Eco


Look at the other side. It specifically states which are to be used with which player numbers. Lord is not used in a 4p game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ecosmith Ecosmith
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, yes, but you only look at those after you assign titles, and the assigning titles instruction is just 'asaign titles according to glory count' or similar.

Lol the rulebook drives me up the wall, really

I thought early FFG rulebooks were bad...

Eco
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clinton Rice
United States
Chino
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
Ecosmith wrote:
Ah, yes, but you only look at those after you assign titles, and the assigning titles instruction is just 'asaign titles according to glory count' or similar.

Lol the rulebook drives me up the wall, really

I thought early FFG rulebooks were bad...

Eco


Don't blame the rulebook for this. While there are certainly rules that can be interpreted multiple ways, this is not one of them. The rules on title cards are very clear.

On page 6 under Titles
Quote:
1st in line (most prominent): Prince/Princess
2nd in line: Duke/Duchess
3rd in line: Count/Countess
4th in line (4-5 players only): Baron/Baroness
5th in line (least prominent, 5 players only): Lord/Lady
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You could also check the starting rules sheet, which says:

Quote:
When starting the Prologue:
Have all players read the histories of the provinces, as shown on
the back of the province boards (out loud or to yourselves - depends on
the group).
Randomly deal title cards to players. The number
of title cards depends on the number of players:
3-players: Prince/Princess, Duke/Duchess,
Count/Countess
4-players: All but the Lord/Lady
5-players: All titles


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.