$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 95

6,107 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
38.5% of Goal | 26 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Ancient Terrible Things: The Lost Charter» Forums » Rules

Subject: Only Events in the Riverboatphase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What happens, if a player starts his Riverboatphase with only Events on the game board? Please note, that this can happen because someone eliminated a "normal" encounter on a place with an Event by the Yawning Chasm.

According to the rules, he is not allowed to draw any new Encounters, because there are still encounters on the board (an Event still counts as Encounter, according to the rules). Neither can he visit any places, because you are not allowed to visit a place with only an Event on it.

Seems, that the game is locked at this point?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
steven smolders
Belgium
Heist-op-den-Berg
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
Love to play boardgames with my family and spending time toghter
mbmbmbmbmb
You can visit a place with an event and you have to resolve the event first before you do the encounter.

Not sure where you have read that in the rules.

Event Encounter
When drawn, Encounter Event cards are placed
over the current Location, and replace the
Location Action at that Location.
Some Location Events have an ongoing effect, that affects the entire game state. When a player moves their pawn to a Location
with an Event Encounter, the effect is resolved
during the Explore Phase, and the Event
Encounter is removed from the board.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you cannot visit a place where only an Event is.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hermjard wrote:
No, you cannot visit a place where only an Event is.


Why do you think so?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
steven smolders
Belgium
Heist-op-den-Berg
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
Love to play boardgames with my family and spending time toghter
mbmbmbmbmb
Hermjard wrote:
No, you cannot visit a place where only an Event is.


I think your playing the events wrong. Did you read the rule i posted before to andle an event ?

An event is not an encounter as in it takes up one space.... You put events over normal encounters and when someone goes to that location it is the first thing you encounter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, an event IS an encounter. It's even called an "Event Encounter" in the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From here:

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1484842/

"The Event replaces the Location(action), not the Encounter.
Another Encounter is still drawn to place at the Location, and tokens are added as per that new Encounter card. One would choose to go to the Location to remove the ongoing effect and face the Encounter there."

and

"The same would apply during a round - a player could not move to a Location that only contains an Event."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
steven smolders
Belgium
Heist-op-den-Berg
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
Love to play boardgames with my family and spending time toghter
mbmbmbmbmb
Hermjard wrote:
From here:

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1484842/

"The Event replaces the Location(action), not the Encounter.
Another Encounter is still drawn to place at the Location, and tokens are added as per that new Encounter card. One would choose to go to the Location to remove the ongoing effect and face the Encounter there."

and

"The same would apply during a round - a player could not move to a Location that only contains an Event."


I think you missed this then.

When checking for end of round / end of game, the Event would not count as a remaining Encounter AT a Location, so the board would be refreshed/ game would end, with the Event still in play.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Now I'm super confused. The rules as stated in that thread seem quite different from the rulebook. There's an Errata file on BGG, but it doesn't mention any of this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.