Subject: How Albarrana was made? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Topias U
Finland
flag msg tools
designer
Spanish castle magic

I wanted to build castles. Most board games won't let me. Sure, we have lots of games like Caylus or Carcassonne: The Castle that are about castle building, but the player is more managing a building process or creating something else than a real medieval castle.

Already when I started designing board games, I got the first ideas about Albarrana. The game had to really be about building a castle focusing on what kind of a castle we're getting - how big, how high walls and towers, and most importantly, how easily defended. A castle is in it's essence a defensive structure and there's no point in building castles that can't be defended.

As a designer I value inventiveness and I'm often aiming to use creative components. I got excited about using LEGO or similar blocks in Albarrana as they have been designed to be used for building three dimensional structures like castles. The game scale is such that a normal less than 1 cm block is about 3 meters in real life. In LEGO's normal scale the building would be even cooler, as one could have real LEGO units with spears and arrows. Unfortunately this would make it almost impossible to find enough blocks for playing. Even though LEGOs are probably the best component for the game, any similar blocks cloud do.

In spite of everything the first drafts of Albarrana had massive amounts of resource management. The players collected stone and wood and needed architects and workers. The version was completely unplayable. The resource management didn't work at all and was quickly replaced with a card draft to determine what everyone can build and by adding a push your luck -mechanic. Later I realized that the result reminds me of the computer game Rampart.

Free as in Beer