$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 130.2

7,669 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
48.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gain Spell/Item rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonas Wirén
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When Dexter Drake gets a random spell after casting one, he GAINS that spell. Correct?
When Preston Fairmont gets an item after a trade action, he GAINS that item. Correct?

Thinking about their spec abilities
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dexter definitely gains a new Spell when he casts one. The rules quite clearly tell you to Gain the new Spell card.

Items are a weird one. The rules don't use the term 'gain' when you pick up or trade items. It also feels wrong that this would be the case, as Preston could always use a Trade Action to just drop an item he is holding and pick it up again to trigger his ability. That seems too easy.

So yes, you gain a new Sell when you cast it, but no, you do not gain a new Item when you trade it or pick it up, it must be gifted from the deck for Preston to use his ability.

Having said that, I see no problem with allowing an investigator to gain an item that was never held by investigators (because it was seeded in a room by the app). It's probably a house rule, but it seems like these types of Items would be intended to trigger Preston's ability.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.