$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 83.77

5,562 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
35% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

War of the Ring (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacking the Dead Men of Dunharrow? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Stauch
msg tools
As the shadow player can you attack the dead men of dunharrow after you get repelled back a space? Is there nothing you can do to stop them?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Hansen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
cstauch wrote:
As the shadow player can you attack the dead men of dunharrow after you get repelled back a space? Is there nothing you can do to stop them?

There's nothing you can do to stop them. Of course, you can attack with your next action to kill them.

It can often make for an interesting dance at the end of the game when the shadow player is on 10 VPs including Pelargir, but the free player is threatening Dead Men. FP has to set up to play Dead Men with their last action, the SP has to be ready to retake it with their last action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Koolin
Netherlands
Veghel
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Teamjimby wrote:
cstauch wrote:
As the shadow player can you attack the dead men of dunharrow after you get repelled back a space? Is there nothing you can do to stop them?

There's nothing you can do to stop them. Of course, you can attack with your next action to kill them.

It can often make for an interesting dance at the end of the game when the shadow player is on 10 VPs including Pelargir, but the free player is threatening Dead Men. FP has to set up to play Dead Men with their last action, the SP has to be ready to retake it with their last action.


How can you attack them, Faction units are not considered an army. Also see rulebook page 10.
Rulebook wrote:
Faction figures are not Army Units, and they are best kept separate from other units occupying the same region.

So how can you attack an army that is not considered an army for the purposes of the rules?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Hansen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Since this is in the main 2nd edition forums, I assume he is talking about the Dead Men of Dunharrow event card. In which case the "dead men" are the 3 Gondor units. If he is asking about the WOME expansion rules, that is a completely different question.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The three Gondor units recruited via "Dead Men of Dunharrow" don't represent the Army of the Dead, as that is dispersed as soon as their oath is fulfilled (in the playing of the card). The Gondor units represent men recruited from the neighboring area in the wake of the Dead Men's attack and destruction of the Shadow Army.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Regarding the Dead Men Faction in Warriors of Middle-earth, Koolin is correct that they cannot be attacked. However, there is nothing (other than fear of being attacked again) to keep the Shadow player from moving the retreated Army back into the region with the Army of the Dead with a later action.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Stauch
msg tools
Krieghund wrote:
Regarding the Dead Men Faction in Warriors of Middle-earth, Koolin is correct that they cannot be attacked. However, there is nothing (other than fear of being attacked again) to keep the Shadow player from moving the retreated Army back into the region with the Army of the Dead with a later action.


I realize now that i should have qualified this question better, thanks everyone. Yes, I was referring to the 2nd Edition with WOME expansion. So, one the dead men start attacking it ends up being the game element that turns the tides for the FP player [assuming he/she has positioned themselves properly Militarily].
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raf B
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The Free Peoples player will still need to use the Faction Event Wraiths of Fear to attack with the Army of the Dead, so its reach is limited by the number of Dead Men recruited and the availability of the two Wraiths of Fear cards. By no means an FPMV slam-dunk.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Koolin
Netherlands
Veghel
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Krieghund wrote:
Regarding the Dead Men Faction in Warriors of Middle-earth, Koolin is correct that they cannot be attacked. However, there is nothing (other than fear of being attacked again) to keep the Shadow player from moving the retreated Army back into the region with the Army of the Dead with a later action.


This would mean that you try to force the FP to use an attack to your SP army without moving the Army of the Undead. Thereby pinning the Army of the Undead in place, sort of.

Or the other option would be to let the FP keep moving the Army of the Undead, but unable to attack your army again. Thereby possibly revealing the actual plan of the FP for the Army of the Undead or keeping your SP army in shape (overcoming their fear)

Or do I misunderstand the possible strategic action/benefit here.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.