$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 54.96

4,023 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
25.4% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

7 Wonders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Go through the discard pile and chose a card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tiago Soares
Ireland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello all,

when playing with the Halikarnassós wonder, in the A or B side there's one or more stages of the wonder that allows the player to go through the discard pile and pick a card for free and equip it.

Does this reward have to be used immediately or can you use it in a later age?

Example: you build the first two stages of the wonder on the first era. Can the reward of the second stage be used later in the third era?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olli Juhala
Finland
Turku
flag msg tools
PEdorido wrote:
Hello all,

when playing with the Halikarnassós wonder, in the A or B side there's one or more stages of the wonder that allows the player to go through the discard pile and pick a card for free and equip it.

Does this reward have to be used immediately or can you use it in a later age?

Example: you build the first two stages of the wonder on the first era. Can the reward of the second stage be used later in the third era?

Thanks!


No, it has to be used immediately at the very end of the turn it was built.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance McMillan
United States
Lakebay
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
My understanding is that you must use the Wonder's benefit on the same turn you build it -- no "delayed gratification." The one thing that isn't entirely clear is whether any cards which are discarded that turn are considered to be "in" the discard pile when the player sorts through it, or whether the cards have to already be in the pile from previous turns.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tiago Soares
Ireland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, it makes sense!

Thank you all!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olli Juhala
Finland
Turku
flag msg tools
Lancer4321 wrote:
My understanding is that you must use the Wonder's benefit on the same turn you build it -- no "delayed gratification." The one thing that isn't entirely clear is whether any cards which are discarded that turn are considered to be "in" the discard pile when the player sorts through it, or whether the cards have to already be in the pile from previous turns.


I am fairly certain they are considered to be "in", so you can pick from those as well. I am also pretty sure it's been officially stated that final round discards are also included, so the leftover cards are also available if the effect is built on the final round of an age.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Ducharme

Quebec
msg tools
Cards discarded in the same turn are included in the discard pile before the player gets to search the pile, as written on page 8 of the basic rules: 'Halicarnassus: the player can look through all of the cards discarded since the beginning of the game. (...) If players discard cards this turn (...), the player can also choose from among them.'
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.