$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 126.53

7,515 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.4% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Codex: Card-Time Strategy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Crashbarrow health and overpower rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vash TheStampede
Saudi Arabia
flag msg tools
http://codexcarddb.com/card/crashbarrow
Haste, ephemeral
Overpower (Excess combat damage this would deal to a patroller hits something else this could attack.)

It is gonna die on your turn anyways, why is the health 2 not 1 ?
Is overpower not going to work if it dies attacking a patroller?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian K
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes overpower still works if it dies.

I don't really know why it is 2 health, it is an interesting question.

You could have a damaged crashbarrow which survives, so you could for example use some spell where you return it to your spellbook to get something else out. Or if you need to sacrafice a unit, you could sacrafice it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Reid
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MVashM wrote:
http://codexcarddb.com/card/crashbarrow
Haste, ephemeral
Overpower (Excess combat damage this would deal to a patroller hits something else this could attack.)

It is gonna die on your turn anyways, why is the health 2 not 1 ?
Is overpower not going to work if it dies attacking a patroller?


There are various combos and hijinks that you can pull when units die (e.g. within red there's Captured Bugblatter, outside of red there's Graveyard, etc.). So a 6/2 with ephemeral & overpower is *sometimes* different from a 6/1. But most of the time it doesn't matter.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas Buel
United States
Saint Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Is it so that it makes it past a Tower?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Reid
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dbuel wrote:
Is it so that it makes it past a Tower?


Towers don't stop things from doing their attack; they just hit back with a point of damage.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas Buel
United States
Saint Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jasonwocky wrote:
dbuel wrote:
Is it so that it makes it past a Tower?


Towers don't stop things from doing their attack; they just hit back with a point of damage.

Yeah I wasn't sure about the timing there
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vash TheStampede
Saudi Arabia
flag msg tools
jasonwocky wrote:


There are various combos and hijinks that you can pull when units die (e.g. within red there's Captured Bugblatter, outside of red there's Graveyard, etc.). So a 6/2 with ephemeral & overpower is *sometimes* different from a 6/1. But most of the time it doesn't matter.


Right! I was missing something...
Ephemeral wrote:

Ephemeral triggers at the end of each player's turn.


The units actually die at the end of the turn (after draw/discard phase)

So yea,like you and the others suggested.. it has slightly better chance of surviving after attack. Then I could sacrifice or something.
Also it has slightly worse chance at triggering "dies" effect such as bugblatter or bloodburn
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Maisonneuve
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, the most obvious reason is that a single Abomination doesn't make it dies right as it is summoned...
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Fanjoy
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If your Crashbarrow survives its attack, you can do shenanigans:
- Temporal Distortion it into the other Crashbarrow that's still in your Codex
- Ready it with Ready or Not
- Blink it with Geiger's maxband so you can attack again
6 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Schneider
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Lots of good uses of it having two health and sticking around, though many others have already mentioned those uses.. Though, if it does die and you have a Graveyard in play, hilarity can ensue. My current team I'm working with is Necromancy (Main)/Blood/Present, using the Warp Gate Disciple for all kinds of scary combos. But, the other night, I pulled out a Crashbarrow to just end the game outright. And I only paid 1 Gold for it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.