$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 126.15

7,499 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Labyrinth: The Awakening, 2010 – ?» Forums » Rules

Subject: Card #156 Gulf Union rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Heron
Poland
Krakow
małopolskie
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If adding militia with this event, must all 4 be placed in 1 country, or is it enough to place them in any countries adjacent to one of those listed?

I imagine the former, as otherwise the 'reposition' option will almost never be chosen.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Heron
Poland
Krakow
małopolskie
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
*bump*
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Fowler
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
We provide...
badge
The rich and powerful take what they want. We steal it back for you.
mbmbmbmbmb
First, it helps if you post the card text:
Quote:
Place a total of up to 4 Militia in or Adjacent (not in Iran) to one of these countries: Gulf States, Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Jordan, or Morocco, OR reposition Militia existing within the borders of these countries.


Second, yes, they must all go into one of the listed countries (or Adjacent).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Heron
Poland
Krakow
małopolskie
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, thanks. But does that mean in only one sdjacent country?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Fowler
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
We provide...
badge
The rich and powerful take what they want. We steal it back for you.
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, the card says "...in or Adjacent to one of these countries:", so that means you choose a single country that is either listed on the card or Adjacent (which includes Mali, Algeria/Tunisia, Syria, Iraq, Somalia, and Pakistan) and place up to 4 Militia in that single space.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Heron
Poland
Krakow
małopolskie
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not sure that I agree it indicates only one country. If so, why include the word 'total'? Why not just 'up to 4 militia'?

Also, to be absolutely unambiguous, the card should read... 'in, or in a country Adjacent to, one of these countries....'
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Fowler
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
We provide...
badge
The rich and powerful take what they want. We steal it back for you.
mbmbmbmbmb
paulh76 wrote:
Not sure that I agree it indicates only one country. If so, why include the word 'total'? Why not just 'up to 4 militia'?

If it's allowed in multiple countries, why does the card say "...one of these countries"?

As for the word choice, that's something only Trevor and/or Adam can answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris McKerron
South Korea
Gyeong Ju
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe it is allowed in one of the countries listed and an adjacent country up to a total of 4.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Fowler
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
We provide...
badge
The rich and powerful take what they want. We steal it back for you.
mbmbmbmbmb
Chris McKerron wrote:
Maybe it is allowed in one of the countries listed and an adjacent country up to a total of 4.

But the card states "in OR Adjacent", so it wouldn't allow both.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Bender
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Hi Paul, thanks for reaching out yesterday. I have to remember that Geek mail replies do not work so well when responding from my phone!

The quick answer is if placing new Militia from the track, all must go in "one" country within the geographic boundaries proscribed by the card. The wording of "...a total of up to 4 Militia..." is to allow players to place fewer than 4 if they were running out or needed them elsewhere.

The Event is attempting to simulate the Saudi-lead intervention in Yemen, which at the time appeared to approach in theme a US regime change style operation but without US forces. Ultimately the operation ended up having fewer coalition partners and being less decisive in the early phase than the quick regime changes that occurred during US lead interventions.

If using the second option on the card, all of the existing forces could be moved around to any number of different countries within the geographic boundaries proscribed, but without the adjacency addition, meaning they could not be placed outside the MENA alliance as the first options allows. The second option is a defensive re-position, while the first option is a Gulf Union led surprise intervention.

Thanks for your suggested rewording...will use that in future editions.

Trevor
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Heron
Poland
Krakow
małopolskie
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Trevor. Good to have the definitive answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.