$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 79.34

5,340 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
33.7% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: How do Allies Work in Enemy Engagement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Loftus
Ireland
Dublin
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I have the guard dog - and he has health and sanity points. His ability is that he retaliates causing 1 damage when attacked. How and when would an enemy attack him? I can't find this in the rules at all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Katharine
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Under Dealing Damage/Horror in the Rules Reference:

"When an investigator is dealt damage or horror, that investigator may assign it to eligible asset cards he or she controls. To be eligible, an asset card must have health in order to be assigned damage, and it must have sanity in order to be assigned horror."

In plain English, this means that when your investigator is about to take a hit, you can assign damage to your allies in play instead. You can even split up the damage/horror as you see fit. So say you have an enemy that deals 2 damage and 2 horror. When it attacks, you can give the 2 damage to the guard dog and take the 2 horror yourself. This would trigger the guard dog's ability, plus the dog would survive the attack.
11 
 Thumb up
5.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Loftus
Ireland
Dublin
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Sutphen
United States
Edmond
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you over damage an asset? For example, the dog is down to one life & one sanity. You're about to take 2 wounds & 2 sanity from a monster. Can you assign it all to the dog?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bobby Marino
United States
Windsor
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
acefury wrote:
Can you over damage an asset? For example, the dog is down to one life & one sanity. You're about to take 2 wounds & 2 sanity from a monster. Can you assign it all to the dog?


No, but you could give the dog one damage and one horror letting him die in two horrible ways.. you monster!
8 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.