$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 123.59

7,390 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
46.6% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

An Infamous Traffic» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dice and counter movement with complete supply chains rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt Clark
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is more of clarification than anything but maybe others will find something useful here as well.

If you use a police action to remove a black counter in a supply chain, you would adjust the outrage track and remove the lowest demand die per 5.3.7.

If that chain had been complete, would you then immediately roll and add new dice to the demand for every smuggler (including the removed smuggler) in the chain per 7.3?

When chains are broken, player enterprises are returned to holdings, but what about bureaucrats and smugglers? Do they remain in play or are they removed? I initially thought they were removed, but the play example leads me to believe that they remain in play.

Last thing, when a port is opened and inland sea smugglers are removed, is there any demand adjustment?

Thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Wasserman
United States
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
My understanding of the rules is that there should be one die for each missionary and uncommitted smuggler in a region. An uncommitted smuggler is one that is not part of a complete, activated supply chain. Thus, if a smuggler becomes uncommitted, a die should be added. (See Rule 7.3) Similarly, if an uncommitted smuggler is removed, a die should be removed. However, if a committed smuggler is removed, then no die should be removed. (See Rule 5.3.7: "adjust the region's demand" following a police action.)

For instance, in the sample round at end of the rule book, during the opium war, a bureaucrat was removed, breaking the supply chain in A3. Consequently, the player enterprises were removed, but the smuggler on the inner water zone was not. The smuggler was no longer committed, so a new die was added to the region.

Note that the example in the rule book is not entirely correct, because in addition to the bureaucrat being removed, the port was opened during the opium war, so the smuggler should have been removed when the inner and outer waters merged. It would be a nice question, though, whether the die should have been rolled and added after the chain was broken, but before the port was opened. This could have an effect on game play if there were already a die in the region and the new die were higher than the old one. Also, the pro tanto British commander could tactically choose to open the port before removing the bureaucrat, thereby ensuring the smuggler never became uncommitted.

Another, related question, would be whether when a smuggler is placed from a conspiracy circle to complete a supply chain, a die should first be rolled and added, and only then the lowest die removed. I would assume the answer is yes.

Edit: The exact situation in the last question is covered in a note to Rule 5.3.6:
Quote:
In some instances the placement of a Smuggler will complete a supply chain. In this case you should still roll and add a die to the region's demand (even if that die is then immediately removed when resolving the completed chain).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.