Hide
2 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » General

Subject: Painted Minis - Tetherys rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick Williams
msg tools
This time I completed Tetherys from Crusade of the Forgotten. I may have put too thick of a layer of primer on her which hid some detail. Let me know what you think!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Fillhart
United States
Millbrook
New York
flag msg tools
Visit my website: www.fillharttech.com where I blog about fixing retro game systems.
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Patrick,

Tetherys looks really good. The color selection is great and you've got bold/striking colors that match up very close to the character card. You've done a great job with the base as well. You've also got really good clean lines and the ever difficult eyes look great!

I am also a fellow miniature painter and have been diligently working on all of my heroes as well. After reviewing Tetherys here, I hope you don't mind one or two suggestions to bring your painting up to the next level of skill.

From the looks of it, your missing the same steps I was missing, the wash stage. The washes will really help add depth to the character and help pop out the higher areas that could use as many steps of a highlight as you want to add. Generally, when I base, I start with the mid tone color then add a wash. The wash will darken the shaded areas as well as darken the mid tone a bit. I then come back in with the mid tone as a highlight and start working up as many stages as I feel are necessary.

Here are some of my examples to show what a difference the wash stage can add:

Unwashed Augur Grisom with a few highlights vs Washed and highlighted Orkell:

If you haven't seen it yet, check out Sorasto's YouTube Channel. He does a great job of showing all the steps for making great, table-top quality figures. He also makes them easy to understand and follow along with. Watching his videos certainly helped me up my game.