$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 88.2

5,780 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
36.4% of Goal | 26 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fast and aoo rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
philippe lachance
Canada
montreal
quebec
flag msg tools
mb
Do fast ability cards trigger attack of opportunity?

AOO rules seem to imply only actions trigger it, and fast rules say they don't cost action, so?

That would change the game quite a bit, being able to use your fast cards while engaged with monsters.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Steinbach
United States
Forest Grove
Oregon
flag msg tools
Fast cards do NOT trigger an attack of opportunity. Attacks of opportunity only occur when an engaged investigator uses an action to do something other than Fight, Evade, Resign, or Parley.

As you correctly noted, fast cards do not require an action, so they do not provoke attacks of opportunity. This means you can play cards like Dodge or Mind Over Matter without taking damage/horror from engaged enemies.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
philippe lachance
Canada
montreal
quebec
flag msg tools
mb
Mind blown, thank you sir. Ok, back to deckbuilding!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joltin' Joe
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, and it also means (very thematically) that you can play a switchblade from your hand and attack with it immediately without suffering an attack of opportunity from your enemy.

But you can't do the same thing with the knife, which is presumably larger and takes a moment to draw forth and get ready. So playing the knife would provoke an attack of opportunity, but then (if you still had an action remaining) you could attack with it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
philippe lachance
Canada
montreal
quebec
flag msg tools
mb
Funny I was already playing that way with card like dodge and evidence, but was tying it to the card effect description not the keyword itself, so I wouldn't have used "working a hunch" while engaged, for example.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.