$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 107.35

6,678 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
42.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Hero Realms» Forums » Rules

Subject: Thief - Throwing Knives rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
MadLad Designs
United Kingdom
UK
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The Thief character gets three Throwing Knives, each knife says:

1 (Damage)
+ 2 (Damage) for each knife you've already played this turn


So how much damage would be done in all three knives were played at once?

is it 9? or 15? or something different?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
9!!!

15 would be overpowered

First TK = 1
Second TK = 3
Third TK = 5
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MadLad Designs
United Kingdom
UK
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Are you sure?

1st knife played - Wouldn't get the +2 as no other knives have been played up to that point.
2nd knife played - Gain the +2 because the first knife has been played. Wouldn't you now go back to the first knife and get the +2 from the 1st knife because the 2nd knife has now been played?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Albano
United States
Bloomfield
NJ
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you wouldn't get the bonus points for the previous ones.

Can't think of the names, but there are a bunch of cards in the base game that do something for each champion you played. You don't get additional bonuses if you played another champion later that turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nickydude wrote:
Are you sure?

1st knife played - Wouldn't get the +2 as no other knives have been played up to that point.
2nd knife played - Gain the +2 because the first knife has been played. Wouldn't you now go back to the first knife and get the +2 from the 1st knife because the 2nd knife has now been played?

No, you wouldn't do it because...

If you play a card the main effect is fully resolved and then you may do other actions... Spend gold, play other cards, activate ally abilities and so on...

So the effect of the first throwing knife was already fully resolved if you play the second one.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
colormage1 wrote:
No, you wouldn't get the bonus points for the previous ones.

Can't think of the names, but there are a bunch of cards in the base game that do something for each champion you played. You don't get additional bonuses if you played another champion later that turn.

Good example

The effect of those cards is only applied once, the moment you play them.
At that moment you get the bonus for each champion you have in play.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I would like to add another example.

If you use a fire gem you get 2 gold.
If you sacrifice it later that turn to get 3 combat, the gold still stays in your pool.
The second effect has no effect on the first effect of the card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Onyx
msg tools
You guys have made this too complicated. The simple matter is, the wording on the card is "+2 (Attack) for every knife you've already played this turn", meaning the bonus only applies to knives you play before that card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jayme Thysell
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
This is a great question and it probably should be stickied or go in a FAQ because every new player is going to ask it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.