Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sam Hillier
Canada
St. Albert
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We just got back from a night at a local board game cafe, and I want to describe a scene we saw (and have seen in pretty much every trip).

A group of friends sits down and grabs a new game. They basically read the rules as they set it up and start to play. The guy who reads the rules basically reads them out loud, from cover to cover. Completely directionless. Other people get bored and fidgety. Let's just play! Eventually, they give up and pack the game away. Maybe they try another one, maybe they settle on something else.

This one group tried to figure out Boss Monster, Mysterium, Zombicide and King of New York. They ended up playing Marvel Trivia, Star Wars Operation, and Star Wars Monopoly.

As I'm sitting here watching this, I feel a mixture of emotion. Part of me wants to go over and teach them how to play (I'm a teacher, it's what I do, and I can't sit back and watch someone do it poorly). Part of me kind of enjoys watching them squirm. Part of me feels bad that they missed out on some fun games, and played kids games instead (the same part wonders if they'll ever come back to this cafe). Part of me thinks that this cafe *really* needs gurus, like at Snakes and Lattes, to really improve the customer experience and ensure retention.

All of me realizes the value that good game explainers bring to a game group.

How many attempted entries to this hobby are blocked by people just being unable to figure out these sorts of games?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Brown
New Zealand
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
so muggle is just a blanket term for 'the uninitiated' i guess..
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Mansfield
United States
Poway
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Daybreak wrote:
How many attempted entries to this hobby are blocked by people just being unable to figure out these sorts of games?