$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 70.39

4,876 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
30.7% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Potion Explosion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Stupid qustion about explosions: do they affect more than one column? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ted Marshall
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Everything I read in the rule book seem to indicate that explosions affect only one column of the dispenser, except for one comment from the professor: "Moreover, if you trigger a particularly big chain of Explosions, one or more slide tracks can end up being partially empty."

Do explosions affect adjacent columns, i. e. where the same color is next to the explosion? If not, I don't see how more than one track can be emptied.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Bates
Australia
Brisbane
QLD
flag msg tools
Explosions definitely do not trigger in adjacent columns. I'm not entirely sure why they worded the rules that way though because I can see how it sounds a little confusing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Pra'
Italy
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
I can see now that it may sound confusing. But it does say "big chain of explosions", plural. The intention of this sentence is to say: "If you trigger a series of big explosions one after the other, one or more slide track can end up being partially empty".

Anyhow, as Anthony confirmed, a single explosion only affects a single slide track.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Marshall
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Algaroth wrote:
I can see now that it may sound confusing. But it does say "big chain of explosions", plural. The intention of this sentence is to say: "If you trigger a series of big explosions one after the other, one or more slide track can end up being partially empty".

Anyhow, as Anthony confirmed, a single explosion only affects a single slide track.

Ok, this still leaves me confused. A single player, on his turn, could trigger an explosion, which triggers further explosions, but all on a single slide track, right? Without using special actions, a player's turn can only affect one track, right?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Reeuws
Belgium
Wevelgem
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
correct
1 track only is triggered.

and if you use special actions in wich you take marbles you don't trigger explosions anyway
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Marshall
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefano Castelli
Italy
Rome
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
TedMarshall wrote:
Algaroth wrote:
I can see now that it may sound confusing. But it does say "big chain of explosions", plural. The intention of this sentence is to say: "If you trigger a series of big explosions one after the other, one or more slide track can end up being partially empty".

Anyhow, as Anthony confirmed, a single explosion only affects a single slide track.

Ok, this still leaves me confused. A single player, on his turn, could trigger an explosion, which triggers further explosions, but all on a single slide track, right? Without using special actions, a player's turn can only affect one track, right?

Thanks


Correct!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.