$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 107.73

6,695 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
42.2% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Mechs vs. Minions» Forums » Rules

Subject: [SPOILERS] Mission 6: Do Rune Gates affect Boss Command Cards? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dr Gosburo Coffin
Germany
Frankfurt am Main
Germany
flag msg tools
mb
Sorry if this has already been answered, but I couldn't find anything about this particular issue.

When we were playing Mission 6 yesterday, we may have made the game harder for us than it was actually meant to be, because we were unsure how to handle situations when the Boss is on one side of an active (i.e. 'closed') Rune Gate and uses "Get Over Here!" on a mech that's on the other side of that gate. Will the player mech move all the way to the Boss, or will it be stopped at the Rune Gate?

Here's a somewhat crude diagram of an example situation:

ooooMooo
xxxooxxx
xxxGGxxx
oooooooo
oooBBooo
oooBBooo


M = Player Mech
x = Massive Boulder
G = Rune Gate (closed)
B = Boss
o = empty

The way we played it, the player mech still ended up adjacent to the Boss, based on p. 11 of the Master Mech-Anic book:
Quote:
Minions and the Boss can ignore Rune Gates, whether they're active or not.

However, we're not sure whether this statement actually extends to the effects of Boss Command Cards or is meant to apply to his movement only.


Given the map layout of Mission 6, another interpretation would of course be a possible: It could be that player mechs are actually pulled along the far left/far right lanes of the map (with the Lava Pools). But then the question would arise whether the Lava spaces would somehow affect mechs that are pulled across them (damage? movement interruption?) ...

So ... how is this meant to be played out?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's a very good question. It was answered in another thread that the pulled Mech does trace a path to its destination, killing Minions along the way. It was also asked if this would cause any issues. I think you have found the case where it does cause issues!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr Gosburo Coffin
Germany
Frankfurt am Main
Germany
flag msg tools
mb
Clipper wrote:
It was answered in another thread that the pulled Mech does trace a path to its destination, killing Minions along the way.

That's really interesing, Clipper, thanks a lot for bringing this up! I think this explanation is very thematic (the mech is pulled by hook and chain after all), and so far most rule issues have been resolved in favour of theme, if I'm not mistaken. So if we apply the same line of thinking here, the player mech would have to stop at an active Rune Gate.

But let's see, maybe we'll get an official statement on this matter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It still opens more questions, too. For example, if the shortest path is over a Lava Pool, do you stop moving the Mech once it hits Lava, as per the Lava Pool rules? If it does stop, does the damage from "Get Over Here!" level 2 still damage the Mech afterwards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr Gosburo Coffin
Germany
Frankfurt am Main
Germany
flag msg tools
mb
Clipper wrote:
It still opens more questions, too. For example, if the shortest path is over a Lava Pool, do you stop moving the Mech once it hits Lava, as per the Lava Pool rules? If it does stop, does the damage from "Get Over Here!" level 2 still damage the Mech afterwards?

Indeed, clarification on these questions would be much appreciated. Even the effect of intervening Massive Boulders is not fully clear (though I assume that the player mech would simply be pulled around them).

And come to think of it, how is the exact path of the pulled mech determined if it's positioned, say, two spaces to the left and five spaces to the front of the Boss? Assuming that all spaces between them are filled with minions, which of them are killed by the mech that's being pulled over them?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Prashant Saraswat
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
designer
Hey guys, we had a discussion with all the designers over here and decided that the previous ruling of a mech tracing a path when hit by Get Over Here is incorrect. Thematically it was really neat, but it just introduces too many edge cases (lava pools, spikes, gates, etc). We want to keep things simple in this case - the intent of the card is to bring a mech adjacent to the boss regardless of any obstacles/objects between the two, so that's what we're going with.

Get Over Here: Ignore all objects (minions, obstacles, other mechs, etc.) when moving a player mech adjacent to the boss.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That indeed makes it much easier.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr Gosburo Coffin
Germany
Frankfurt am Main
Germany
flag msg tools
mb
catzpaw wrote:
Get Over Here: Ignore all objects (minions, obstacles, other mechs, etc.) when moving a player mech adjacent to the boss.

Thanks a lot for clarifying this! It's a little bit sad to lose the thematic effect that was there before, but in regards to rule consistency, the current approach is much more solid! I think it was the right decision to rule it like this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.