$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 86.64

5,704 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
35.9% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Advisor question *Spoiler* rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mr. D
United States
Oneonta
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Our group had a disagreement regarding an advisor who comes from one of the first 3 boxes.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
The Specialist: Can pay 1 good not produced by an island to buy 2 goods from that island. Gives Buy Goods +2.

The main question was regarding the phrase "pay 1 good to the island". Most of us felt this good goes to the bank. But one argued the good should sit on the island to be purchased and possibly even raided. He finally accepted majority opinion, but wasn't happy about it.

The less contentious part was whether this "pay 1 good to buy 2" ability is in addition to being able to purchase 4 goods (due to Buy +2). So could one potentially get 6 cubes from 1 action - buy 4 and use Specialist ability to gain an additional 2. We ruled not, and he accepted our logic.


Thoughts?

Thanks,
TR
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Liddle
United States
Sandpoint
Idaho
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Based on how certain other advisors work...
Spoiler (click to reveal)
i.e., the Thug
... I'd say that:

a) you never place payment onto the island to be accessible for subsequent purchase or raids unless explicitly told otherwise.

b) special payment abilities can be used in combination with normal gold payment during a buy action. All buys happen simultaneously, and are limited to 2 goods plus any "+X Buy Goods" effects in play.
Spoiler (click to reveal)
I.e., you can't get 6 goods with that advisor unless he's upgraded from +2 buy to +4 buy.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bell
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Does that player want to leave money behind on the space when he buys goods normally? If not, why not?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Payments should go to the bank, in my opinion. And if you need rationalization, the island is presumably willing to make the trade due to having a large demand for that good; why would they turn around and sell it at a discount?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.