$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 132.73

7,774 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
49% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monster toughness vs health rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Edwards
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Can someone clarify the difference between monster toughness and monster health?

Example:
A monster has a toughness of 4. An investigator makes a combat/strength roll and gets 2 successes. The monster is injured and loses 2 health. 2 strength tokens are place on its card to indicate this.

Next turn, the investigator makes another combat/strength roll and gets 3 successes. This reduces the monsters health by another 3 to minus 1. The monster dies.

Where does toughness come into this? Surely the 'toughness' stat is actually just 'health'? The FAQs say that a monster's toughness isn't affected by received damage, but in my example even if the monster's toughness is still 4 the investigator only needs 3 successes to kill it on the second turn of combat.

Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance.

Tim
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
Yeah, Toughness is its hit point stat, if you will.

I don't think "health" as in "remaining hit points" is a concept that is ever used. Only damage capacity (Toughness) and damage taken seems ever relevant?

Edit: I guess the main point of the faq entry is that effects that refer to Toughness always refer to the base value, no matter if any damage is on the monster.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Filpus
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The reason the rules make the distinction is for the effects that affect monsters with a certain toughness. If a card says "Discard a monster with 1 toughness", you can't discard a monster with 3 toughness that's taken 2 damage.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenneth H
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The monster's toughness score indicates how many hits you need to kill it. It is indeed health in a general sense, but there is a minor difference. As you state, doing damage to the monster doesn't actually reduce the monster's toughness. This means if you have a monster with 4 toughness that takes 2 damage, the toughness is still 4. It won't be affected by stuff that affects monsters with 2 or less toughness, such as the Police Assistance asset. That's the example you're missing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Edwards
United Kingdom
flag msg tools

Thanks for the helpful replies.

Tim
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davy Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And don't forget that if you get 2 successes against a 4 Toughness Monster, not only does he take 2 damage, you do, too. Then, on the next turn, if you get 3 successes, the Monster takes 3 more damage -- more than enough to kill it, but you also take 1 damage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Austin Fleming
United States
West Covina
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
randomlife wrote:
And don't forget that if you get 2 successes against a 4 Toughness Monster, not only does he take 2 damage, you do, too. Then, on the next turn, if you get 3 successes, the Monster takes 3 more damage -- more than enough to kill it, but you also take 1 damage.


That's not right. You take the difference between the monster's damage value and your successes, not its toughness. See the EH rulebook, p. 14-15.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davy Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh sorry, yes I stated that incorrectly. I need coffee.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.