$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 92.46

5,986 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
37.7% of Goal | 26 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Trek: The Dice Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about Reassigned card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hernan Ruiz Camauer
Argentina
Buenos Aires
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The card text says "Reroll 1 Crew Dice during Roll Call, other than THR results."

I was initially playing this as an optional ability (done at will should you need a better roll result), but now I am wondering if having this card in play FORCES you to reroll a die. Because nowhere on the card does it say "you MAY".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Griffin
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I hope not because I don't. It's supposed to be a benefit not a curse.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hernan Ruiz Camauer
Argentina
Buenos Aires
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
If that's the case, I propose a rewording in the next update of the game.

BTW, I currently have TWO Reassigned cards in play. If it's not optional, I'm quite screwed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Horinek
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
Dan Dare, 1950
badge
Stairway scare, Dan Dare, who's there!
mbmbmbmbmb
On the contrary, I am sure it is a curse. The wording would use "you may" or such in case this was optional. This is a negative lasting effect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Griffin
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
yeeshkul wrote:
On the contrary, I am sure it is a curse.


Not sure what you mean. You buy this card as a development. If it was not optional, no-one would buy it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Horinek
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
Dan Dare, 1950
badge
Stairway scare, Dan Dare, who's there!
mbmbmbmbmb
What card are we talking about?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Horinek
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
Dan Dare, 1950
badge
Stairway scare, Dan Dare, who's there!
mbmbmbmbmb
"Reassigned"
Yes that must be optional. I am sorry i got confused. There are Events that make you re-roll certain Crew Dice. Developments are beneficial.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl White
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules as intended, you have the option of rerolling a dice if you wish. As was mentioned, no-one would buy the Dev card if it were mandatory!

It's a fair point, a better wording for the card might be "You may reroll one Crew Dice..."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.