Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy Kent
United Kingdom
Cambridge
flag msg tools
mb
Hi

Just recently bought the game and after reading the rules and watching a few videos I started playing over the weekend. I played the Barbarians first and lost the first game (9 faction cards each) but then I got the hang of it and my scores were 34, 53, 74, 89, 79, and 73. I switched to the Romans and my first score was 67.

So these seem OK scores for a newbie, but I'm having a problem, which is that each time I play, the cards reduce themselves to purely mathematical formulas. All I find myself looking at is the cost to build, and ways to gain resources from the card - actions, production, deals, razing etc. At no point are any of the cards representing the actual thing depicted - a chapel, legion, pottery, forest, storehouse, woodcutter's house and so on. In fact, in my last Barbarian game, I don't think I looked at the card titles or artwork at all for the whole game.

I was hoping that this would be a small quick civ-type game, building up a small tribe into a thriving settlement but I can't get past the mechanics and into the theme. The faction cards don't jump out at me going "look at your growing settlement - now how about a sentry post or a school?" in the way I want them to.

Does it ever come alive? Do you ever get to the stage where you think "ah, a stone mason" rather than "ah, a formula for turning a particular resource into a different resource"?

TDM

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marty Strubczewski
United States
Gettysburg
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I tend to get the "alive" feeling more from 51st State Master Set. Have you tried it?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Kamin
Poland
Cracov
flag msg tools
mb
I got that feeling from the beginning of second play

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Hunnicutt
United States
Arden
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmb