Hide
3 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » General

Subject: What to play as training? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Diego Montado
msg tools
Hi, I am studying the rules to host a game this saturday, it will be me as overlord, plus 3 friends (none of us has ever played).

I own core set, heirs of blood campaign book, and lieutenant skarn.

I seem to remember I read in this forum, that it was recommended to play first a scenario so everybody learns the game (overlord included) and get the way in which character progesses, before actually fully starting a campaig, so as not to make errors that you will later on the campaign regret.

My question is, what could I use as such a test scenario? I would not want to use any scenario from core campaign or heir of bloods so as not to spoil them, but dunno exactly what to use...

Any suggestion is greately appreciated!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Santi Velasco
Spain
San Juan de Aznalfarache
Seville
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The first scenario of the core set campaign is intended as a tutorial, I'd play that one.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Steinbach
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Basically any quest from the shadow rune campaign will do.

I advice you play "first blood" first, followed by another quest from the shadow rune. This should be able to fit in a single game night, depending on the amount of time spend on explaining and selecting characters. My advice would be to not dwell on this too much as it is only a test run. Consider giving yourselves 2 or 3 XP to start the second quest just so you can try stuff and become familiar with how the game plays.