Subject: Newbie Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Angelika Fröhlich
Austria
flag msg tools
mb
Hello

I'm new to this genre of games. I bought this game also because of the fact, that I know many of the towns in real. Also the game "Cruel Necessity" caused me to have a closer look at the games of VPG!

There are many rules you have to learn if you are new to this series. And the fact, that my english is a little bit stiff, it's not that easy. But I will get it done!! meeplemeeplemeeple

Anyway, here are my questions after my first play yesterday (I played one day - I guess more questions will follow )ninja

1) What are the benefits of leaders? I can't find them in the rulebook... modest

2) Is the dice-roll for crossing the pantoon bridge done when you move onto the "pantoon bridge marker" or afterwards?

3) Can you please give me a whole example of a combat situation? I don't know if I understand the mechanism correctly.

So, thanks for your help!
Greetings from Austria, Angie

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance McMillan
United States
Lakebay
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Angie666 wrote:
1) What are the benefits of leaders? I can't find them in the rulebook...

Leaders are covered by Optional rule [16.9]. When using that rule, any attack made outside the "command span" of a friendly leader is subject to a -1 penalty. Basically, the basic effect of leaders is that they will tend to concentrate combat in specific sectors of the battlefield (you can still attack anywhere, but the efficiency of those attacks will be lessened if there isn't a leader nearby).

Angie666 wrote:
2) Is the dice-roll for crossing the pantoon bridge done when you move onto the "pantoon bridge marker" or afterwards?

The crossing roll is made when the unit moves onto the pontoon; if the unit fails to cross it gets moved back into the approach hex leading up to the bridge which often causes a big traffic jam.

Angie666 wrote: