Hide
4 Posts

Middle-Earth» Forums » Rules

Subject: Winning in solo games rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
dark yeoman
msg tools
I'm really enjoying Middle-Earth (after I got over the frustration caused by the rule book!). It is a beautiful game, and really immersive.

At the moment, I mostly play alone, and though I enjoy the game thoroughly, I don't quite know what to think of the official rules for winning. I've incorporated some Arda rules, and so playing until the deck runs out seems a bit pointless. I am also terrible at keeping track of turns, so playing for X turns does not quite work.

As I am still learning the rules, I've been playing until I've been to or used 10 to 15 locations, and then count my MP. It is a bit anti-climactic, though, as there does not seem to be a real "conclusion" to the game itself.

How do you all end your solo games of Middle-Earth? What are the victory conditions in your games?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Bolton
England
Devizes
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
nothing to see here, move along
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I usually play the official solo scenarios which have specific winning conditions.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yegor Sadoshenko
Ukraine
Dniepropetrovsk
Dniepropetrovsk region
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I play by the official rules, but only until the deck is exhausted once. After that I calculate the score. If it's above 20, I win.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dark yeoman
msg tools
YeGor wrote:
I play by the official rules, but only until the deck is exhausted once. After that I calculate the score. If it's above 20, I win.