$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 62.41

4,444 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
28% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Star Trek Panic» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing of Short Range/Docking Requirements in Missions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Geeky McGeekface
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
For the first time in 108 years, the Cubs are world champions! Incredible game 7 victory over a valiant Cleveland team.
mbmbmbmbmb
Quite a few of the missions have a requirement that the Enterprise maneuver itself so that a ship or token be in short range, or even be docked, along with the typical requirements that certain division credit cards be played. What is the timing of the maneuvering requirements? Is it necessary that the required cards be played before the Enterprise maneuvers itself as specified? I ask this for two reasons. Not only would it make more thematic sense for the maneuvering to happen last, but additionally, the game doesn't provide a way to show that these requirements have been met. If the maneuvering happens before the cards are all played, then things could happen which remove it from play (including the ship's destruction or a boarding attack). But the rules make no mention of this, so we've just assumed that the players need to remember that that part of the mission has been accomplished. How have you all been treating this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rik Vandermeulen
United States
New York
flag msg tools
If I'm not mistaken, this is only an issue of one of the mission requirements is to have an enemy ship in short range. In this case, we played that the ship needed to be in the short range zone when the "Missions Status" phase is done and all other criteria needed to be satisfied at that time to be a success.

If some cards are missing and the enemy ship becomes a boarder, then you'd need to wait for another ship or for the mission to time out and fail. Try to delay the boarding with shields if possible.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin B. Smith
United States
Morro Bay
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Right. To put it differently, during the mission status phase, ALL of the requirements must be met. The ship must be in position AND any necessary cards must have been committed. If one but not both are currently in the correct state, the mission is not yet complete.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geeky McGeekface
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
For the first time in 108 years, the Cubs are world champions! Incredible game 7 victory over a valiant Cleveland team.
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, guys. Looks like the game is even harder than our first game made it appear! shake
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.