$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 70.43

4,878 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
30.7% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shroud and the flashlight rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gerald Ziegler
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
The flashlight reduces the shroud of a room by 2. The Attic has a shroud of 1. If the flashlight is activated, does this make the shroud in the Attic 0 or -1. I can't seem to find an answer to this in the rule book.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Grazier
United States
South Euclid
Ohio
flag msg tools
Check out my boardgame demoing website! www.geek-craft.com
badge
Near northeast Ohio? Come to one of my game nights! www.geek-craft.com
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules Reference, page 15 wrote:
Modifiers
Some abilities cause values or quantities of characteristics to be modified. The game state constantly checks and (if necessary) updates the count of any variable value or quantity that is being modified. Any time a new modifier is applied (or removed), the entire quantity is recalculated from the start, considering the unmodified base value and all active modifiers.

When calculating a value, treat all modifiers as being applied simultaneously. However, while performing the calculation, all additive and subtractive modifiers are calculated before doubling and/or halving modifiers.

Fractional values are rounded up after all modifiers have been applied.

A quantity on a card (such as a stat, an icon, a number of instances of a trait or keyword) cannot be reduced so that it functions with a value below zero. Negative modifiers in excess of a value’s current quantity can be applied, but, after all active modifiers have been applied, any resultant value below zero is treated as zero.

(For example: Danny tests agility and reveals a –8 chaos token. When applied to his agility of 4, this would reduce his skill value to –4. However, his agility cannot be reduced so that it functions with a value below zero. While the –8 modifier still exists, his agility is treated as zero. If Danny were to play “Lucky!” to receive a +2 bonus to the test, this bonus would not be applied to the functioning skill value of zero; but rather, it is applied in conjunction with all active modifiers. Danny’s agility would then be calculated as follows: base skill 4, –8 from chaos token, +2 from “Lucky!” for a total of –2, which is still treated as zero.)


It reduces it to 0. That being said, the lowest your Intellect with modifier can go is 0, so unless you draw the Tentacle token, you succeed if the target number is 0.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerald Ziegler
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Hi Ken,

Thanks for the reply. This helps!

-G
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.