Hide
16 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: 2 Player Games for Me and My 9 Year Old rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Crouch
msg tools
Newbie Here..looking for Christmas gifts.

My son (9 years) regularly (usually) beats me at these games:

Carcassonne (our favorite, using 4 expansions)
Small World (another favorite)
Castles of Mad King Ludwig (ok we have a lot of favorites)
King of Tokyo
Stratego
Risk
Ticket to Ride

So I'm looking for some 2 player suggestions, even if they seem advanced. I've seen some interesting ones online which I'd also like opinions on:

Pandemic
Tokaido
Mysterium

Again, this would all be for just the two of us most likely.

Thanks in Advance!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodrigo Rangel
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick and inexpensive deck builder would be Star Realms. My daughter regularly beats me at this.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Narciso Jaramillo
United States
California
flag msg tools
+1 for Star Realms.

Some other 2-player games to look into:
Jaipur
Patchwork
Summoner Wars

2-player games I haven't played but have heard good things about:
7 Wonders Duel (the original game is great but not for two players; this is specifically designed as a 2-player game and by all accounts is excellent)
Star Wars Rebellion
Claustrophobia

Mysterium is great, but more fun with more players.

Pandemic is a classic, although I personally haven't gotten into it much for some reason. For a slightly less well-known co-op game, take a look at Flashpoint Fire Rescue - though I don't know how well it plays with two players, I expect that if it feels too thin at that player count, you could control multiple characters.