$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 66.36

4,660 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
29.4% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Box 5 - Advisor Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jackson Rodriguez
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
new user
mb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
The Ninth Initiate was one of the first 5 advisors to come out during our second winter. The player who uncovered The Society Island (I forget the name) on his next turn bought and activated the Ninth Initiate.

Of the five advisors in the forum, none had enmity stickers.


#1- Player shines the Light of Truth on each of the 5 advisors, gaining 1 glory for each (and placing an enmity on each), +1 if they chose to interrogate the 9th Initiate.

#2- Would they then read each Society member's passage that they found?


Then, add all Society members to their council room.

We had some debate on whether shining the light on an advisor meant you were interrogating them and thus you gained a glory, or if you gained the glory only for your active advisor.

We played at the table (hesitantly) that this was worth 6 glory (9th initiate + 5 advisors all interrogated), but a strong case was made for "no- you only get 1 glory for the interrogation- the rest are just revealed".

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Filpus
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Shining the light of truth is just one step of an interrogation (add enmity sticker, get point, read the paragraph). If something just says shine the light of truth on an advisor, you aren't interrogating them and don't do the other steps.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vince Alvarez
China
Tracy
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
jayarsea wrote:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
The Ninth Initiate was one of the first 5 advisors to come out during our second winter. The player who uncovered The Society Island (I forget the name) on his next turn bought and activated the Ninth Initiate.

Of the five advisors in the forum, none had enmity stickers.


#1- Player shines the Light of Truth on each of the 5 advisors, gaining 1 glory for each (and placing an enmity on each), +1 if they chose to interrogate the 9th Initiate.

#2- Would they then read each Society member's passage that they found?


Then, add all Society members to their council room.

We had some debate on whether shining the light on an advisor meant you were interrogating them and thus you gained a glory, or if you gained the glory only for your active advisor.

We played at the table (hesitantly) that this was worth 6 glory (9th initiate + 5 advisors all interrogated), but a strong case was made for "no- you only get 1 glory for the interrogation- the rest are just revealed".



Spoiler (click to reveal)
No to both questions. Adding a enmity sticker and gaining a Glory only happens when you choose to interrogate an advisor, which was just made active. The Ninth Initiate's ability doesn't make the advisors active, it only hires them. You can only activate one advisor per turn, so you would only be able to interrogate (and gain one glory) once per turn.

Reading a related passage also only happens during an interrogation. So The Ninth Initiate just lets you know who is a member of the society and what their rank is, then you hire them all for free.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.