$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 48.72

3,656 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
23% of Goal | 30 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Ashes: Rise of the Phoenixborn» Forums » Rules

Subject: Expand Energy? Stuck on why this is worth playing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Van Horn
New Zealand
flag msg tools
new user
So we just started playing Ashes and seemed like we had a handle on it until we came across the Expand Energy card. It doesnt seem to make sense. Or maybe we have got something wrong. Why would it be worth spending your main action to reroll a die when you would've just reroll them all in your recovery phase. What are we missing?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conor Hickey
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You're not just re-rolling it, you're re-rolling it and placing it back in your active pool, so you can spend it again that turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sias Mey
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Just to make sure, because this might be a hold over from other card games with similar plot.

You arent doing a recovery phase after each main / side action pair right?

The action phase gets passed back and forth with both players taking actions untill both players pass in sequence.

So, Expand Energy allows you to take more resource intensive action before a recovery phase. Possibly letting you kill something that would recover a bunch of damage, or exhaust all your opponents blockers before summoning a final big hitter to slip through when they have no dice and no way to block.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Van Horn
New Zealand
flag msg tools
new user
We must be playing wrong. Our understanding was that you can only do one main action per turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke G
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmb
A mistake that some new players make is having each player only take one turn each round. You alternate taking turns until both players take the "pass" main action on consecutive turns then move to the Recovery Phase.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Van Horn
New Zealand
flag msg tools
new user
Legend! Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Stiles
United States
Brandon
Florida
flag msg tools
mb
TheVanHornet wrote:
We must be playing wrong. Our understanding was that you can only do one main action per turn.


One main and one side action per turn, but multiple turns per round (pg. 5 of the rule book). Prepare Phase, multiple turn phases, then recover phase-- then repeat for new round.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Fritz
msg tools
mbmbmb
Yes, because of this structure, your hand and active die pool become a resource that diminishes throughout the round. You replenish both at the start of each round.

So, Expand Energy is actually VERY useful. It gets you a die back to spend again. And since you get to roll it, it might let you convert that basic die you spent last turn into a class or power face for use next turn...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Skaak
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
nbfritz wrote:
And since you get to roll it, it might let you convert that basic die you spent last turn into a class or power face for use next turn...


Plus it lets you stall in the mid-to-late part of the round, which can force your opponent to make a sub-optimally timed attack or pass when they don't want to.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.