4 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: Question about a few board games. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Duo Maxwell
msg tools
new user
Im new to teh whole boar gaming scene (especially teh more advanced ones). So I've been looking at a few board games (both in kickstarter and readily availible) and theres something Ive been wondering. The games in question are:

Rise of the Kage
Lobotomy
Dark Souls
Massive Darkness

My question is regarding whether or not those games and their mechanics are different enough to be considering completely different games, or are they just pretty much the same games with different skin/palette swaps?

As they all look VERY similar to me, but maybe some of you who are more advanced and knowledgeable of their gameplay and mechanics would be able to point out that that isnt the case? Sure there are minor differences to each game even I can see that but are those differences big enough to warrant having all 4?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Taylor
United Kingdom
Staffordshire
flag msg tools
I don't know the games in quesiton, but 3 of them aren't actually out yet, so you won't find many people who have actually played them.

Having said that, a quick read up on them makes me think that they'd probably have similar concepts and mechanisms, but would be slightly more than just palette swaps. However if, as you say, you're just starting out, you'd probably be better off getting a more diverse range of games.

i.e.: If you have a large collection and you know you're really into that type of game, then it might be worth having all 4. If you don't have many games, and you're still discovering where your tastes lie, then almost certainly not.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duo Maxwell
msg tools
new user