Subject: It's Not Easy To Be A Chinese Warlord rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David G. Cox Esq.
Australia
Port Macquarie
NSW
flag msg tools
Do what you can, with what you've got, where you are.
mbmbmbmbmb
If You Like Risk (Well, Even If You Don’t), You Will Fall In Love With

‘The Emperor of China’

Dynamic Games released ‘Emperor of China’ (EoC) in 1972. I started playing wargames in 1980 and first became acquainted with EoC in 1985. It was a strange first meeting – I had been involved with serious wargames and my initial reaction to EoC was that it was not for adults; it was too simple; it really wasn’t what I was looking for in a game. Anyway, I had played Risk (which I don’t like very much) and this smelt a bit like Risk – and Risk is only a kids game anyway.

WRONG!

While having some superficial similarity to Risk in some of the mechanics EoC has an elegance that Risk lacks.

Brief Overview
The object of the game is to become the Emperor of China by eliminating all other players (unlikely) or by controlling (either by physical occupation or by “inference”) 15 of the 21 provinces (unlikely). Failing this, the game will end after 32 turns (each turn will only take a couple of minutes) and victory will be determined by scoring points for the size and wealth of each players dominions.

Let’s Look At How It Plays
The map of China contains 21 provinces. Some have defensive benefits such as being behind a rather large wall, or being adjacent to a river, or even being separated from the mainland by a sea. Each player will select a starting province and place three markers in this province. Location is important – you need to look for a location that is both easily defensible and yet still allows you the possibility of expansion. Because you can control a province by “inference” (i.e. surrounding it) the starting province is quite important.