Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Entdecker» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on unplayable "?" tiles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So if a player is placing a tile, and draws a "?" tile, and it is unplayable, does the effect of the event tile still occur. Now in some cases, this wouldn't make any sense, but in others, (Storm, Pirate, Gold), it would make a big difference, potentially ending a player's turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Lacombe
Louisiana
msg tools
Suddenly a shot rang out! A door slammed. The maid screamed. Suddenly a pirate ship appeared on the horizon! While millions of people were starving, the king lived in luxury. Meanwhile, on a small farm in Kansas, a boy was growing up.
mbmbmbmbmb
I have no idea what the official rule is, but we play that the event doesn't happen unless the tile plays.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Pressler
United States
West Lafayette
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I don't know if there is such a clarification for the original game. In Entdecker: Exploring New Horizons (aka Neuen Entdecker), the rules specifically state that if an event tile can not be legally placed, then the tile is discarded and the event is not resolved.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Smith
New Zealand
Wellington
--------------
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We play it that way too. It also makes sense - if you don't go there (because the tile is unplayable), you don't encounter the storm, natives, pirates, ruins or gold.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.