Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian White
United States
Clayton
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I enjoy playing Air Baron a lot, however, the map can settle into a few patterns. Namely, the mountain west (especially Phoenix and Denver) can turn into into a No-Man's Land with a lot of flux since there are no foreign routes to provide defensive benefit. So, in order to change things up back in the late-90's I made a (hand-drawn) variant map of Europe, and I finally got around to making a presentable computer version, which I have now uploaded. (I'm not a graphic designer however, so although I like the end product overall, there are some parts I dislike--particularly the arrows--maybe someone else will take the idea and do a better job.) I also made a counter sheet, which I will upload as a file (as suggested by the image modders who didn't like it as an image).

The statistics between the original map and this one are the same, by which I mean that as there are two 9-value spokes in the original, there are two 9-values spokes in this version (etc., similarly with market shares and jumbo limits). However, everything has been scrambled (in an educated guess manner using my assumptions of european airports).

One consequence is that the many low-value spokes are clustered on the eastern edge of the board, where there are foreign routes. So, I think that playing a low-purchase-cost/high-volume strategy is a more viable on this map than on the original. I played on this map quite a lot in high school and have enjoyed it, and from that limited experience it seems to be balanced. Hopefully you enjoy it as well.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Simons
United Kingdom
Royal Wootton Bassett
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb