$10.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

London's Burning» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bombing & Combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Serge Dinatale
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, could someone please explain what happens in the following:

Situation:
- RAF patrolling target hex
- Raid moves into target hex where RAF is patrolling

Question:
- Does bombing take place or do the presence of RAF fighters prevent the raiders from dropping thier bombs and only combat is carried out?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wei Jen Seah
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Serge,

Combat between the RAF and Luftwaffe will take place first, and if there are any Luftwaffe bombers remaining after combat, then they will bomb the hex
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph T
United States
Signal Hill
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's another question. Let's say a raid bombs a target. The way I understand it is the raid stops short of its full 3 spaces as soon as it reaches an unbombed hex, and is considered to have dropped bombs. Next phase, before the raid moves again, my British fighters intercept. Which direction is the raid facing? A northern direction still, or is it turned south?

Another thing, what if the raid had dive bombers, so the bombers drop to 5000 (or 10,000) feet. If the escorts are at 20,000 feet and I attack the dive bombers, will the escorts drop to defend (over two altitude away means "lost contact", or will the dive bombers be completely defenseless?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Warren Davis
United States
Jacksonville
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1.) The raid has turned in the direction of home.
2.) Only the dive bombers dive to 5000' (Angels 5).
3.) Once the dive bombers have dived, they cannot be attacked due to being out of contact.

Hope that helped.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph T
United States
Signal Hill
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
So if the stuka goes to 5000 feet and your fighters were waiting at 5000-10000 feet, they can't attack the stuka's on the way home?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Kaiser
United States
Aurora
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, they can attack the Stukas. Once dive bombers go to 5000 ft. (or 10,000 in the presence of balloons) then these aircraft stay at that altitude for the trip home. If their fighter cover is two or more levels above them then the fighters cannot engage you as you attack the Stukas.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Miller
United States
Glen Burnie
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A nice way I pick up some targets if I miss the inbound raid is to catch the dive bombers on the trip home when the rest of the raid is well above them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles CORDIER
France
MONTIGNY SUR ARMANCON
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
geekgeek wrote:
Hi Serge,

Combat between the RAF and Luftwaffe will take place first, and if there are any Luftwaffe bombers remaining after combat, then they will bomb the hex


Hello ! Now I'm confused because 5.4 clearly states that impulse's steps are Luftwaffe Movement, then Bombing, then Combat, hence I would say the bombing is done BEFORE combat. However, the jettison rule is meaningless when playing this way, so you may be right. There is still something unclear to me here !
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Ebert
United States
Cape Coral
Florida
flag msg tools
Solo Gamers are NOT lonely!
badge
Together We Game Alone (1 Player Guild)
mbmbmbmbmb
noelberrier wrote:
geekgeek wrote:
Hi Serge,

Combat between the RAF and Luftwaffe will take place first, and if there are any Luftwaffe bombers remaining after combat, then they will bomb the hex


Hello ! Now I'm confused because 5.4 clearly states that impulse's steps are Luftwaffe Movement, then Bombing, then Combat, hence I would say the bombing is done BEFORE combat. However, the jettison rule is meaningless when playing this way, so you may be right. There is still something unclear to me here !


I know this was posted over a year ago, but I looked at 5.4 and you are both right. Here's what I gather.

1. RAF Movement

2. Combat (If RAF intercepts Raid)
• RAF Segment
• Luftwaffe Segment
(Intercepters' segment first)

3. Luftwaffe Movement

4. Bombing

5. Combat Rounds (Raid interception, combat like step 2, but Luftwaffe segment first, since intercepters go first in combat)


So, if the RAF intercepts first, then combat happens.
If the Raid reaches a target hex and intercepts the RAF, bombing happens first, then combat.

@noelberrier
The Jettison Rule is not meaningless. If the RAF intercepts the RAID before it reaches it's target, and the Raid ends with surviving bombers, they will continue their path. Any that were hit (Engine or pilot) won't have their bombs to drop when they get there. Don't forget that combat can end after every round so there could be only 1 round of combat.

Since RAF fighters can only intercept once per raid, once combat is over, the bombers left over can do their damage still. (Unless you only had 1 RAF intercept, the other can still)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles CORDIER
France
MONTIGNY SUR ARMANCON
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This makes the point clear to me.

Thanks !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Cutcliffe
United Kingdom
Paignton
Devon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Eric the Red wrote:
A nice way I pick up some targets if I miss the inbound raid is to catch the dive bombers on the trip home when the rest of the raid is well above them.

I don't think you can do this under the rules. You are allowed only one Interception per raid, and that includes the inbound and the outbound legs of the raid's movement. Once you have Intercepted, you must pancake after combat (if any) and stay on the ground until the next Phase.

Of course if by 'miss the raid' you meant that you failed to make the Intercept before they hit the target, then yes, this is indeed an excellent tactic
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Cutcliffe
United Kingdom
Paignton
Devon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Here's another question on this topic. I have a Hurricane on the ground at Manston and it's 10am. The German raid appears within range of Manston and my Chain Home is intact, so I scramble the Hurribag - mistakenly, facing towards the German raid. Sure enough, the Germans bomb Manston and, although the Hurri is not damaged by the bombs, there's a 110 dive-bomber in the formation which drops to 5,000 feet and bombs.

However, since the Luftwaffe moved in to the hex, it's their intercept, and so once that 110 has bombed, all of a sudden it's a fighter again and it attacks the Hurri head-on and indeed out of the Sun, because the Hurri is still at ground level and the 110 is at 5,000 feet and moving from the southeast out of the Sun.

Did I do this right? Can the 110 bomb and then immediately attack a British fighter out of the Sun? Since it's the Luftwaffe's intercept, I imagine this was correct because once it's laid its egg, the 110 is a fighter just like any other *and* it's his turn.

An interesting situation, anyway. Next time I'll scramble him so that he's facing out of the Sun, although of course that might mean that he gets even more bursts fired at him.....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cesare
United States
San Marcos
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
King_Drax_I wrote:
Here's another question on this topic. I have a Hurricane on the ground at Manston and it's 10am. The German raid appears within range of Manston and my Chain Home is intact, so I scramble the Hurribag - mistakenly, facing towards the German raid. Sure enough, the Germans bomb Manston and, although the Hurri is not damaged by the bombs, there's a 110 dive-bomber in the formation which drops to 5,000 feet and bombs.

However, since the Luftwaffe moved in to the hex, it's their intercept, and so once that 110 has bombed, all of a sudden it's a fighter again and it attacks the Hurri head-on and indeed out of the Sun, because the Hurri is still at ground level and the 110 is at 5,000 feet and moving from the southeast out of the Sun.

Did I do this right? Can the 110 bomb and then immediately attack a British fighter out of the Sun? Since it's the Luftwaffe's intercept, I imagine this was correct because once it's laid its egg, the 110 is a fighter just like any other *and* it's his turn.

An interesting situation, anyway. Next time I'll scramble him so that he's facing out of the Sun, although of course that might mean that he gets even more bursts fired at him.....


This seems correct to me. Bombing happens first so the 110 is now a fighter and it can intercept. Well played by the Luftwaffe.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.