Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave G
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
El Chupacabratwurst
mbmbmbmbmb
I’ve not posted many reviews on this site, partly because I’m relatively new to the hobby and many of the games I’ve played are either a) classics that don’t need yet another glowing review or b) “hot” new games that don’t need yet another glowing review. In the interest of avoiding posting the 417th review of Small World or Dominion, I’m trying to review some of the older games I’ve played instead. That said, let’s take a short look at Raj, a simple bidding/bluffing game:

Overview

Raj is a very simple game on the surface. Face down in the middle of the table, you have 15 animal tiles, numbered -5 to 10 (skipping zero). Each player is given bidding cards numbered 1 to 15. On each turn, a player turns over one of the animal tiles, and the players choose a card from their hand a lay it face down in front of them to bid. On the positive tiles, the high bidder wins. On the negative tiles, the lowest bidder gets the dubious “win” and takes the negative point tile into their collection. Once you’ve played a bid card it goes face up in front of you for everyone to see, and it’s out of the game. Ties negate each other—only the highest (or lowest) unique bid wins the tile, adding an additional layer of bluffing and guesswork to each bid. Once all the tiles have been auctioned, the player with the most points wins!

Impressions