$10.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Pandemic: On the Brink» Forums » Rules

Subject: questions on hidden pocket rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Sacrimoni
msg tools
Hi all,

Just finished our first On-The-brink-night. It was nice. Three people, three games, two wins. We only played the virulent strain option and ended up with some questions, all regarding to the "hidden pocket" card turning up when the virulent strain is erradicated:

-When a virulent-strain-epidemic card turns up, at what point does the effect come into play? Before the Increase step, after the Intensify step, or somewhere in the middle? When the "hidden pocket" card comes up (and the virulent strain has been eradicated) this means that the card from the bottom of the discard pile (infect step) either end up with one or no cube.
-What happens with all the "continuing effect" cards in play when the virulent strain is eradicated? (I suspect they stay in play in case a "hidden pocket" comes along)
-Continuing on the previous question; does a "chronic effect" influence a hidden pocket (eg. do you have to add two cubes to every city of the vir. strain's color in the discard pile)?

Btw this first play, when we (purposefully) did not look at all the virulent strain effects before hand, was fantastic because of the utter shock brought on by the hidden pocket! Thanks to Matt and Tom for this experience.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Hidden Pocket is resolved after Infect (and before Intensify).

So, if the Virulent Strain disease has been eradicated and a city of that disease is drawn during the Infect step, you don't place 3 cubes on it (as per the normal eradication rules).

However, that card then goes into the Infection Discard Pile (see page 6 of the Pandemic rules), and therefore will end up with 1 cube on it when Hidden Pocket is applied, before resetting the Infection Discard Pile.

Yes, all continuing effects stay in play after the Virulent Strain is eradicated (they have no effect unless Hidden Pocket is drawn and takes effect).

Chronic Effect only applies to infecting cities when playing the Infector; not when resolving the Infect step of an Epidemic. So, Chronic Effect has no effect on Hidden Pocket.

Glad the surprise "shock value" worked for your group! Enjoy.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joecab
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Another question:
what happen if I draw Hidden Pocket when the virulent strain is not yet eradicated?
Do I discard it without effect or do I keep it until the virulent strain is eradicated and ten apply the effect?

Thanks for the answer :)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Hidden Pocket doesn't have a Continuing Effect icon and, at the end of its text, it says: "Otherwise, ignore this event."

So, yes, if the virulent strain isn't eradicated, you discard this card with no event effect (after resolving its normal Epidemic effects).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joecab
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you Tom
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.