$10.00
David C
United States
Aurora
Colorado
flag msg tools
mb
Ok, say a bear moves next to a hunter. Is that hunter immediately killed? ...or does that happen next turn?

So, is it move, then kill? Just kill? Kill than move? Turn-over then kill, immediately?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Chunko
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
mb
Killing something = moving onto its space.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David C
United States
Aurora
Colorado
flag msg tools
mb
That clears it up for the most part.

However, a hunter at range... basically a shot counts as a move?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chaddyboy
United States
Olathe
Kansas
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Bloooooop.
badge
Bluuuuuurp.
mbmbmbmbmb
bippi wrote:
That clears it up for the most part.

However, a hunter at range... basically a shot counts as a move?


If you have a hunter with a clear path pointing at an animal and you wanted to kill that animal, your turn would consist of moving the hunter to the space containing the animal, and removing the animal from the board.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David C
United States
Aurora
Colorado
flag msg tools
mb
Wait, I thought hunters got a range for their weapons?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Chunko
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
mb
There are no "shots" only moves. Hunters may move in a straight, unblocked line in any direction and end on any empty space. They may also move in a straight, unblocked line in the direction of their gun and end on an animal space, capturing that tile. (A "shot") Those are your only two choices. No piece ever captures without moving.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chaddyboy
United States
Olathe
Kansas
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Bloooooop.
badge
Bluuuuuurp.
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup, basically your options on a turn are:

a) flip a tile
b) move a tile, possibly killing something by landing on top of it
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wayne Pierce
United States
Lexington
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Boy did I ever play this wrong! No wonder I thought the game was unbalanced. I was trigger happy, shooting all over the place! A shot equals a pointed gun moved onto the animal, got it!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Beane
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think perhaps that the hunter has a gun is what misleads people. Think of him as a super-strong fighter. Sure he has a gun, but shooting an animal is the WUSSY way out, he thinks! So he ATTACKS animals with his bare hands and kills them, sort of like...well, a bear. And he only bare-handedly kills animals in the same direction that his gun is pointing because, um....those are the "rules of the road."

Okay, new hypothesis! He DOES use his gun, but he's a terrible shot and can only shoot targets at point-blank.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Werner Bär
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
He shoots the prey, and moves there to pick it up for scoring.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.