Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Chicago Express: Narrow Gauge & Erie Railroad Company» Forums » Rules

Subject: Quick question about Narrow Gauge rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
UA Darth
United States
Deerfield Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I just want to ask a quick question about Narrow Gauge. When an orange train is in supply, a player can choose and advance any of the 3 actions and use an orange train INSTEAD of the action?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
Correct.

More precisely they may perform a null action (select an action and not do it), and then may optionally place a narrow-gauge cube in addition to their null action. It is effectively a temporary emergent alliance alliance form for losing players.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
UA Darth
United States
Deerfield Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
clearclaw wrote:
Correct.

More precisely they may perform a null action (select an action and not do it), and then may optionally place a narrow-gauge cube in addition to their null action. It is effectively a temporary emergent alliance alliance form for losing players.


Great, thanks again!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Boisselle
Canada
Boucherville
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
Within the realm of color, the shadows often assume responsibility for the awkward shine of yellow.
mbmbmbmbmb
If I read right, when using an orange piece and building on a city, you do not gain anything?
If I remember correctly, the rules stae: " It does not cost anything, but does not gain you anything"...

???
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Costas
Canada
London
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say:
"The starting orange narrow gauge locomotives do not count against the cost of building into the city hex. They have no effect on the cost of the railroad building into the city."

This is referring to building into one of the nine cities that start with an orange train; the cost to build into those cities doesn't change. You then move the orange train into the repository and it is now "available" for use.

The rules also say:
"The locomotive must be placed on an empty non-city hex immediately adjacent to a hex containing one of the 5 companies from the standard game."

In other words, you can only place an "available" orange train on farm, forest and mountain hexes.

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.