$10.00
Recommend
30 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Snow Tails» Forums » Reviews

Subject: ( Video Review ) Snow Tails, a racing game with a difference. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Mckane
Australia
SYDNEY
N.S.W
flag msg tools
designer
mb








www.youtube.com/harrymaxryan
This Video contains a brief animated overview of how the game is played.
24 
 Thumb up
0.26
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Dziuba
United States
Scurry
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Nice review guys but just wanted to bring up a clarification...

In your movement example for Blue you note he gets a balanced sled bonus of 1. He would actually get a bonus of 2 as he was in 2nd place at the start of his turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Mckane
Australia
SYDNEY
N.S.W
flag msg tools
designer
mb
Nick Danger wrote:
Nice review guys but just wanted to bring up a clarification...

In your movement example for Blue you note he gets a balanced sled bonus of 1. He would actually get a bonus of 2 as he was in 2nd place at the start of his turn.


Thats not how i understood it. in My rulebook, It states: A balanced sled qualifies for an optional bonus movement, A balanced sled receives a bonus to its speed equal to the sled's position in the race (E.g a Sled in 3rd place would receive a bonus of +3).

Bonus movement is taken at the end of a sled's normal movement.

So i assume that means after the sled has moved, Then the bonus is calculated using the rules for bonus movement mentioned above: A balanced sled receives a bonus to its speed equal to the sled's position in the race

The example of play in the rulebook is not to clear on this either as the player who uses the ability of bonus movement starts in 2nd place and is eligible for a bonus movement, And throughout the example he seems to remain in second place. So either way his bonus would remain 2.

It probably be taken in either context. That's how i understand it though. Not sure now.

There are a few rules submissions in the forum along these lines.



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Listening to: Mark Helias - Loopin' the Cool // Michael Blake - Drift // Ari Brown - Venus
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Jerry has it right. You were in 2nd place when you started your move, so your bonus is 2. The bonus is taken at the end of movement, not calculated then. Here's a link with a comment by the designer:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/351977/bonus-move-at-the...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Mckane
Australia
SYDNEY
N.S.W
flag msg tools
designer
mb
Sphere wrote:
Jerry has it right. You were in 2nd place when you started your move, so your bonus is 2. The bonus is taken at the end of movement, not calculated then. Here's a link with a comment by the designer:


I can't argue with that, So it seems Blue would get a bonus movement of 2 not 1. I will leave my previous post up. so others can see how i made this mistake. But thanks for the correction both Jerry and (sphere) for taking the time to let me know.

shake It makes me feel a little better at least that i'm not the only one to make this sort of mistake.

Thanks again guys.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.