$10.00
Serge
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Say you use some other takeover power for your first settle and succeed. Can you now discard Rebel Sneak Attack to settle a military world from hand?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Jome
United States
Franklin
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
mb
Quote:
III: may discard from tableau after placing a world to place a military world (cannot combine with takeover or cost type conversion powers)


So, it's a one shot Improved Logistics... sorta. If you put down a world from your hand, you can put down a second world. The second world must be a military world. And you cannot place the second world using a takeover power or a cost type conversion power.

So, the answer is yes, in fact, the only sort of thing you can do is place a military world from you hand in response to this action. You cannot use Rebel Sneak Attack to activate a takeover action, like the bonus settle phase of Improved Logistics. That is, I read the clause in paranthesis on Rebel Sneak Attack as applying to the placement of the bonus military world (no takeovers or cost conversions on that world) not as applying to the initial world placement that triggers the bonus military world placement.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Once the Geek has you, there is no escape...
United States
Binghamton
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Yes. And, just like IL doing a normal Settle after a declared takeover, the player doing this declares this additional settlement during their powers and payment step, discards RSA, pumps Military if needed, etc., and then delays the resolution of this additional settlement until the pending takeover is resolved. If the declared takeover fails, then the RSA additional placement is lost, RSA is still used up, etc., with the world itself then being returned to its owner's hand.

Exactly the same restrictions as IL after a takeover apply to an RSA additional settlement after a takeover, along with the additional restrictions noted on the RSA power.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arius Elvikis
United States
Wenatchee
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And so, Rebel Sneak Attack is merely giving you a second chance to place a Military world that is otherwise legal for you to place?

As opposed to discarding it to place ANY military world from your hand. For instance, you couldn't drop it to place Rebel Homeworld unless you otherwise had the military might?

Last night we discussed the rule, what it meant, and then my opponent proceeded to drop the Homeworld in exchange, without otherwise having the proper military strength, giving her the win.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nishadham
United Kingdom
Bristol
Avon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, she was cheating. "Placing" still means "legally placing"!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.